One Word Challenge: Birds…on the I&M Canal

Posted: March 23, 2016 in Misc. Photo Challenges, Nature
Tags: , , , ,

Pardon my double-posting today, but I just saw Jennifer’s One Word Challenge theme, “Birds” and wanted to share a photo I’ve had around for a long time, waiting for the right moment.

My husband, an avid cyclist (the biking kind), has ridden on the I&M Canal trail in Illinois more than once.  In a riff of the Rails-to-Trails theme, the canal is still there, but the towpath is now a hiking/biking trail.

After repeatedly hearing of it beauty and wildlife, I decided I had to see it as well, only on foot.  So one afternoon, we walked a few of its 60+ miles, which took some time, as I was constantly stopping for photos.  It was warm enough that we even spotted a number of turtles sunning themselves on logs in the water. It was amusing to hear them plop into the water if we got too close.

We also spotted a number of birds.  Perhaps because there were so few people out that day or maybe just because they’re somewhat used to humans, there were a number of great photo ops.  Here’s one beauty who appeared to be posing for the shot.  Thankfully, I had my Nikon and not just my phone!

copyright janet m. webb 2014

Comments
  1. Looks like a sentry deciding whether to give you the OK to be there.
    (Always heard those canal trails were wonderful…now Molly is bouncing to go visit)

  2. Lena says:

    Wow! A really great catch.

  3. Now that is truly a Kodak moment. 🙂

  4. Sue says:

    Hang on….60 miles in one afternoon??

    • I think they may have done this in two parts, but remember, you have to go back again unless you have someone like me waiting to pick you up at the end. Yes, they’ve done 50 miles or so in one day, but not one afternoon. 🙂

      janet

  5. He looks too perfect to be real! Like an advert for whiter than white laundry detergent. 🙂

  6. pommepal says:

    Beautifully framed.

  7. joannesisco says:

    It’s a beautiful shot! No wonder you wanted to share it … I would too!! 🙂

  8. nowathome says:

    Stunning photo, Janet!!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

