Thursday Doors…divine door

Posted: March 24, 2016 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , , , ,

Walk along West Jefferson Avenue in downtown Naperville, Illinois and you’re certain to notice the door of Tasting DeVine, selling wine from the Lynfred Winery, Illinois’ oldest.  We’ve never gone in for a tasting, but the door itself is certainly tasty.

So many (Thursday) doors, so little time!

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

Some additional decoration

 

© janet m. webb 2016

Detail in sun

Comments
  1. Hammad Rais says:

    Wow!! These are so amazing.

  2. Dan Antion says:

    What a beautiful door. The carvings are amazing. I can’t imagine how many hours of work are in that door.

  3. Norm 2.0 says:

    Wonderful hand carved artistry – great find! Doors like this will stop me in my tracks every time 🙂

  4. joannesisco says:

    Wow – a lot of love and attention went into that door!!

  5. Wow, stunning work. Thank you for sharing!

  6. joey says:

    Wow. Such amazing carving!

  7. That carving causes my mind to wander to a visual of a craftsman standing over that slab of wood and creating that beautiful artwork with a few chisels. Impressive. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  8. My goodness, there’s a whole book written on those doors – they’re beautiful works of art.

  9. jan says:

    Oh my, it’d be hard to top those doors!

  10. It’s a work of art! Really great find.

  11. Those doors are really amazing, Janet. The wood carving is excellent what an amazing sight.

  12. jesh stg says:

    Wow, beautiful wood sculpture designs!
    I guess it’s just a matter how one does a post – I do have a meme/challenge Seasons, running from Mon-Wed., but at the same time I have a weekly post for at least half of the challenges in one post. Before I ran the meme, I had a weekly theme fitting all the challenges during the week:)
    It is my way to have a cohesive story per week and to save time.

  13. nowathome says:

    Beautiful detail on the door!!

  14. Splendid workmanship on those doors Janet – don’t think I’d be able to resist a wine-tasting!

  15. tnkerr says:

    Lots of work and creativity went into the making of this door. Probably almost as much as went into the photographing of it.
    This is a fun one. Great find.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

