COB Photo Challenge 2016, Week 13…vintage lawn ornament

Posted: March 27, 2016 in Cee's Photo Challenges
Tags: , , ,

My dad grew up on a Nebraska farm.  Not long after my grandfather died, my dad retired and my parents moved to Arizona, taking along a lot of old farm equipment that wasn’t sold with the farm.  This “lawn ornament” graces their front patio along with an old metal tractor seat.  I like the dinosaur/sci-fi look of it.

For more oddball photos, visit Cee’s blog.  A direct link to this week’s challenge will be up once it’s available.

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. ledrakenoir says:

    I guess we have a bit the same “historical” background – have seen this kind of old farm equipment before, seen a lot… 🙂

    Excellent idea, very well captured… 🙂

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I like the detail photo. It’s fun to see these old pieces.

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    Hi Janet, fabulous photos of the old farm equipment. 😀

  4. Loved seeing this, Janet. It definitely has a dinosaur look about it. 🙂

  5. Believe it or believe it not J……..in MB’s very young days, MBs dad used a working horse to pull a plough in our largish vegetable garden to set potatoes, cabbages, etc, before we acquired a tractor. Assume that’s I plough I’m partially seeing? We later modified the plough to attach it to the tractor. Can remember one pre-tractor occasion, we borrowed a neighbour’s horse to do the ploughing. After doing about 2 ‘drills’ about 50M long each, the horse dropped stone dead in the garden. Not sure what explanation my dad was able to offer the neighbours! Regards.

    • I have good memories of being on the farm and “driving” the tractor, steering while my grandfather worked the pedals. There was no AC, not even an umbrella. It was a wonderful time. But farming is very, very hard work. Sorry about the horse. 🙂

      Happy Easter, cuz.

      janet

  6. pattisj says:

    Nice find. I like the detail shot.

  7. nowathome says:

    interesting shapes!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

