Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Challenger’s Choice…icy abstract

Posted: March 28, 2016 in Nature, Phoneography Challenge
Tags: , , , , ,

Despite being officially spring, there are still some chilly mornings.  We’ve been having lots of rain, so in my last few walks, the puddles have a lovely skim of ice on them.  I think this one works well for “Abstraction”, my response to this week’s Challenger’s Choice.

On Saturday, I spotted the first daffodils spreading spring their light and cheer.  There weren’t many of them yet, at least in our neighborhood, but perhaps by the time you read this a few days later, ours might have begun opening.  There are plenty of buds on bushes and trees.  What a joyous time of year!

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. macmsue says:

    Wow! That’s a real work of art, it would look great framed and on a wall.

  2. Wow. A 👍 shot.
    Btw I forgot to wish you a happy Easter. Nice you had family in. Randy

  3. Your image is a song to the possibilities of nature. It’s such a fabulous season that has such known and unknown series of gifts. Happy listening and watching. Happy Photo Challenge.

  4. Looks like an aerial view of the confluence of the Ohio & Mississippi Rivers at Cairo. I would not have guessed that it was ice—nice photo.
    Ω

    • It does look like the confluence of two rivers, Allan, but I wouldn’t have been able to name them. 🙂 Good morning and enjoy your day. Thanks for making me part of it.

      janet

  5. thirdeyemom says:

    Beautiful capture Janet!

  6. LavendarLadi says:

    Every moment I look at this photo I find a new little ‘something’ to draw me in!

  7. Great textures and shapes. Un familiar with ice It took me a while to figure it out
    Happy Monday
    Carol

  8. Su Leslie says:

    This is beautiful Janet; the texture and lines are great.

    • Thanks, Su. It’s one of those things I see that brings joy to my heart at its unexpected beauty. I love when that happens. As the C.S. Lewis book title says (albeit on a different topic): “Surprised by Joy.”

  9. This is a really great photo! Love the design it makes.

  10. This one just dances with energy. The more you look, the more colors are revealed.

  11. This abstract works well. It is definitely spring out here. Although today was overcast and windy, it wasn’t really chilly. Just beautiful!

  12. nowathome says:

    It is a great capture of this icy puddle, Janet! It is getting cooler here in South Africa as we are heading into Winter!

  13. Amazing photo Janet. Love the textures comosition and colours. A gilded frame would complete the look

  14. Suzanne says:

    An absolutely intriguing image

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

