Weekly Photo Challenge: Landscape…Desert

Posted: April 1, 2016 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , , ,

When I visited my parents in Arizona in January, we visited Carefree for the wine and art show. This desert landscape  was a bonus along the road on the way home.  To some, the desert is too spare and hostile.  I think it has a beauty all its own, one that allows distance and expansion.  While vertical shots work better in WordPress, the desert to me is horizontal and surrounding.

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. Purple mountains’ majesty.
    Ω

  2. nivs24 says:

    Woot woot. I posted Arizona Desert as well!

  3. Laura says:

    Love the cacti.

  4. Archita says:

    Beautiful, Janet!

    • Thanks, Archita. Fortunately, there were places to stop to get a decent photo, as we weren’t on a major highway. So many perfect shots go untaken because of that problem.

      janet

  5. I use to visit my parents in Arizona. The landscapes are breathtaking. You really captured it here.

  6. I used to hate where I lived, would always say “the Southwest”. It took my wife to introduce me to the beauty of the desert. Even the mountains devoid of any vegetation are beautiful at dawn and dusk! I’m going out to Death Valley this weekend to see the last of the super bloom wildflowers.

    • You’re so right, Emilio. It’s a beauty 180 degrees from that of the lushes parts of the world, but the emptiness invites a different personal response and growth than do other, more thickly covered parts of the world (not that they aren’t beautiful as well.) I look forward to seeing your photos of the wildflowers.
      janet

  7. Leya says:

    The desert is beautiful – no doubt!

  8. jan says:

    I’m not a desert person however I do love desert landscapes and this one is gorgeous!

  9. Wow! So very beautiful…also on my bucket list of places to visit. 🙂

  10. This almost looks like a watercolor. The desert is horizontal with big sky. It has its’ own strange beauty.

  11. Su Leslie says:

    Beautiful! The purple is so striking.

  12. Beautiful, reinforces my desire to get to the desert one of these days

    • If you get the chance, take it. I love being there in winter, when the temperatures are chilly at night and nice during the day. But our younger daughter and I were there in summer last year and I got to see the cacti flowering, which was also great.

      janet

  13. de Wets Wild says:

    Lovely photo, Janet! I love the dry places – having so much openness around you allows the soul to soar!

  14. coolquilting says:

    beautiful photos…love the blues and purples and greens!

  15. Ruth says:

    I spent a week in AZ in January and was amazed at the different landscape. You really captured it, Janet. Nice!

  16. Love that purple mountain majesty! It has been less than a decade since I learned that the desert has its own unique beauty.

  17. Sandra says:

    Beautiful shot Janet, I can almost feel the heat rising from the earth. Have a good weekend.

  18. […] This, that and the other thing Weekly Photo Challenge: Landscape…Desert […]

  19. Only the tough survive in the desert, and yet it has its own beauty. I especially like the purple colors, Janet.

  20. A wonderful shot, Janet. Those mountains just glow in the background, and the cacti make for a beautiful and interesting foreground.

  21. lexklein says:

    I love the contrast between the cacti and the blue-tinged mountains behind. I was never a fan of the desert until the last decade or so, but now I find it fascinating.

  22. joannesisco says:

    You’ve certainly delivered the beauty in your photo!

  23. pommepal says:

    What a fantastic light and composition janet you have captured the beauty of the desert so well.

  24. pix & kardz says:

    i too love the desert. while on a roadtrip with three friends a number of years ago – long before i had a digital camera – we had a couple of intentional pit stops ‘in the desert’, too. that was an incredible journey through parts of Nevada, Arizona and Utah. thanks for sharing the beauty you saw on your recent trip.

  25. nowathome says:

    It is beautiful, would love to see it one day!

  26. galeweithers says:

    I’ve never actually seen a dessert but I agree from your photos that they have a unique beauty of their own. Thanks for sharing 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

