Seven Day Nature Challenge, Day 2…flying saucer

Posted: April 2, 2016 in Misc. Photo Challenges, Nature
Tags: , , , ,

I was just getting into my walk when out of the corner of my eye, I saw an alien space ship. I didn’t see it landing, but I saw where it had attached itself to a bit of native flora. Not sure where the aliens had gone. I suspect they were hiding.

Hmmm, almost forgot. I’m supposed to nominate someone. Let’s see.  Sandra, are you interested?  If so, please jump right in.  If not, you should visit her blog anyway.  Not only does she take photos, she’s an amazing writer.

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. Has it landed or is it just about to take off? I would have expected aliens to be a tad larger. And do you have a chainsaw to remove that obstructing branch.
    Curios.

    MB

    • Fortunately, MB, the branch was along the side of the path, so no chainsaw was necessary. While most aliens appear to be tall, sometimes enormous, who can say that there aren’t little ones? At least if these tried to attack, I could just step on them or kick them to the side and run (unless they had tiny ray guns, of course.)

      janet

  2. Lena says:

    Cool spaceship, but now you have to be careful. You never know if the aliens ard friendly or not.

  3. Sue says:

    Nicely observed, Janet

  4. Tish Farrell says:

    That is one splendid fungal apparition, Janet. And a good crop of lichen too.

    • I know, Tish. One advantage of having had lots of moisture lately. This morning we’d be having rain except that in the atmosphere it’s just a shade to cold, so we’re actually getting a small amount of dancing snowflakes! Spring is such a crazy time of year.

      • Tish Farrell says:

        Changeable it is. We’re up and down here like yoyos – from moments of sunny warmth to piercing wind, and back to downpours in between. We’re promised sun later today though.

  5. A very interesting space-ship, Janet. The branch with all that beautiful lichen is worth a photo anyway, but with the fungi, doubly so. 🙂

    • Lots of lichen around right now, but this was the first giant spaceship I spotted. I’ll keep my eyes peeled next time I’m out. I’m also looking forward to the mushrooms, but I think it’s a bit too cold yet.

  6. Its amazing how they grow! Sadly also killing the host. Great photo!

  7. Reality really is stranger than fiction… Wonderful find! I love how this really blurs the line between the realm of natural and supernatural.

    • Good morning, Hannah, and a happy Saturday to you. I loved finding this as it really did look like a tiny flying saucer. I’m checking for tiny aliens next time I’m there. 🙂

      janet

  8. pike says:

    Beautiful nature photo!

  9. de Wets Wild says:

    Beautiful photo Janet, proof positive that an entirely new world awaits if you are prepared to stoop down and look!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

