Seven Day Nature Challenge, Day 7…seasons collide

Posted: April 9, 2016 in Misc. Photo Challenges, Nature
Tags: , , ,

Winter-spring, spring-winter.  Back and forth.  As I type this, we’re having high wind blasts and periodic snow showers, gloom and bright sunshine.  Spring is a time when all weather bets are off and winter vies to hang on just a bit longer.  Spring will out eventually.  In the meantime, we’ll find scenes like this one.

For the last day of the challenge, I invite any of you who love nature to feel free to participate in this challenge.  I hope you’ve enjoyed the photos and, because nature is mostly what I photography, you can rest assured that the challenge will continue most days of the week at “This, That, and the Other Thing.”

I’m leaving for a mini-road trip today and not surfacing much on the internet until Monday night (then work all day Tuesday, so…)  I thank all of you who stop by to view and especially to take the time to comment and conduct a conversation, even though my part of the conversation may be absent for a time.

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. pike says:

    Ice holds so varied forms, never seen like that.

  2. Very different and interesting. Randy

    • We have a bit of the white stuff on the ground this morning, Randy, although only a dusting, not an inch or more as some other places have or had yesterday. I’m afraid to see if the daffodils have finally succumbed to the cold, as it was in the mid-twenties this morning. Would have been a good morning to lie in bed for a bit, but I work for four hours, then I’m off to Michigan. Happy weekend to you.

      janet

      • Have a nice weekend. Drive safely.
        Are you still working at the tea shoppe?
        i recently purchased rooibos tea because of your writing about the shop – enjoyed it. Different tasting.
        Randy

      • I’m still working there, Randy. Glad you tried rooibos. It’s very good for you, lots of antioxidants and although I like it unflavored, there are some very nice flavored rooibos blends.

        janet

        P.S. Safely in Michigan

  3. joannesisco says:

    It looks like we’re going to have this cold blast for at least another week. Brrrr.

    • Here is seems that today will be the coldest (40 for the high), then a bit warmer tomorrow before getting in the 50’s, maybe even hitting 60 by week’s end. I’m ready for a bit of warmth now. 🙂

      janet

  4. Dan Antion says:

    That bottom photo is amazing Janet. We’re in this same pattern but it seems warm enough to be a spring day today.

    • My weather app says it’s “up” to 25 now but still feels like 14. Ah, wind chill. Fortunately, I won’t be outdoors much at all and it will warm up a bit tomorrow. Glad you liked the photo.

  5. RuthsArc says:

    Beautiful photo of the swaying seasons and temperatures.

  6. nowathome says:

    Beautiful! It is amazing how the one season can hang on whilst the other wants to take over!

    • It is, Aletta. I’m in Michigan right now, where we’re having snow showers this morning and yesterday morning I was told, there was quite a lot of snow for a time. Glad I missed the white-outs and ice!

      janet

      • nowathome says:

        Wow! I have never experienced snow or even that kind of extreme cold weather…. We are heading into winter but today is was 35 degree C!!

  7. At first glance I thought that this was a sheet of plastic that was stuck to the leaves. I love the forms and colors you captured. Nice work, Janet.
    Ω

  8. Paula says:

    This looks perilous with sharp, frozen edges. Fantastic capture, Janet!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

