COB Challenge 2016, Week 15…You’ve been chopped.

Posted: April 10, 2016 in Cee's Photo Challenges, Food
Tags: , , ,

I don’t watch cooking shows on TV, partly because of time and partly because in the same amount of time, I can peruse a number of cookbooks or cooking magazines.  But every so often, I enjoy watching “Chopped.”  Four chefs start the program, competing in three rounds: appetizer, entree, and dessert.  Prior to the start of each round, the chefs each get a basket of mystery ingredients (the same in each basket.)  There’s always one weird ingredient, often more than one.  Each round has a time limit and contestants are scored on taste, creativity, and presentation.  However, at the end of each round, one person is chopped and must leave the program.  The chef left at the end wins.

I’m always amazed at what creations emerge from these odd ingredients (and also at the egos of many of the chefs.)  Although I was a lunch cook in a very nice restaurant in Steamboat Springs, Colorado many years ago, I didn’t create dishes, just fixed them.  However, I did learn a few useful kitchen skills, including some knife skills.  While prepping ingredients for chicken soup recently, my photographer’s eye was caught by the following shot of cut celery clinging to the very knife that made it “chopped.”  Odd, but fun.

 

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. nowathome says:

    I love watching that program too! Great knife skills, Janet!

  2. Dan Antion says:

    That’s a great photo. I worked for a caterer, many years ago. Not fine food, but still some interesting lessons.

  3. The picture was large enough that I first thought it was honeydew melon. What a unique subject for a photo. Love it.

    • Thanks very much, Sandra. The slices just looked to cool clinging perfectly to the knife that I had to take the shot and this challenge is that place for this type of photo. 🙂

      janet

  4. You certainly retained those knife skills. I like that I did not know what they were. At first they seemed the color and shape of snap peas, which are in season. Then I read your comments.

  5. bythebriny says:

    I don’t even like cooking, but I like “Chopped”. Love the fresh green colour of the celery.

  6. nivs24 says:

    Did you change the blog theme or am I imagining it?

  7. Such a delicious image, Janet. I love celery. 🙂

  8. Pan says:

    I haven’t watched chopped.. But I am impressed with that celery, it looks perfectly colorful and crunchy.. The way it clung really makes a pretty picture too.. I haven’t been to Steamboat Springs in over a decade.. Tough roads for a semi to travel but I always loved the scenery 👍

  9. I. Greenwald says:

    Your photo is pretty cool.

  10. Jane Lurie says:

    Very imaginative shot, Janet!

  11. Great photo. Love your imagination

  12. That’s a great shot of one of my favourite vegetables, Janet. At first glance the slices seemed to be stacked one on top of the other, like a tower. When I read your post I realized they lay along side each other. Trick photography? 😉

  13. Cee Neuner says:

    I would say you picked up some pretty nice knife skills. 😀 Great shot.

  14. Paula says:

    A seriously good culinary photograph 🙂

  15. Cee Neuner says:

    Congratulations! I have selected your post to be featured on Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge.
    https://ceenphotography.com/2016/04/17/cees-odd-ball-photo-challenge-2016-week-15-2/
    I sure hope you have a terrific week!

  16. eklastic says:

    Talk about multi-tasking. To put the knife away in order to fetch the camera – and then to take such a brilliant shot!

    • 🙂 There are some really cool shots in the kitchen but some don’t last long enough for me to get back with the phone! Glad you liked this one. I was very pleased with how it turned out.

      janet

  17. dyule2014 says:

    THANK YOU FOR YOUR POST THEY ARE WONDERFUL WISHING YOU ALL YOUR SUCCESS

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

