Thursday Doors…geometric doors

Posted: April 14, 2016 in Thursday doors
Tags: ,

A pair of doors in the new wing of the Cleveland Museum of Art, a world-class museum with a fantastic armor court and all of it available for the magnificent price of…free. There’s a parking garage or you can sometimes find spots along the street in a metered spot if the students attending Case Western Reserve University aren’t too think on the ground. Special prices only apply for special exhibits, making CMA the best museum value in the country.  The museum is part of the University Circle area, where you can also visit the Cleveland Botanical Gardens, the Natural History Museum, or, if the orchestra is in town, attend a performance at Severance Center in the evening.

Although in the new part of the museum, the style of these doors remind me of something by Frank Lloyd Wright, if he were working in metal, rather than wood.  For more Thursday Door entries, you can go to Norm’s blog (Norm is our host) for today’s post and linky critter or directly to the links.

© janet m. webb 2015

Comments
  1. Dan Antion says:

    Good choice Janet. I like these doors. I recently watched a presentation about the technology in use at that museum. It was fascinating. I definitely need to visit at some point.

    • Cleveland is an underrated city, Dan, easy to visit and not expensive compared to many large cities. It’s also become a foodie destination, with lots of great restaurants.

      • Dan Antion says:

        Having grown up in Pittsburgh, I’ve always been drawn to visiting there instead of Cleveland when I’m in the area. I do intend to get there at some point.

      • The great Pittsburgh-Cleveland rivalry. Easier to get around Cleveland without those enormous hills that always seem to be between you and where you want to go!

      • Dan Antion says:

        I love the hills, tunnels and bridges. It makes the drive interesting (and frustrating). Yeah, I remember when the rivalry included which city’s steel mills got the order for a big bridge. Those days are gone, but we still have football.

  2. Paula says:

    Frames within frames within frames.. Very cool, Janet.

  3. I’ve been to Cleveland but it was a long time ago. If I find myself in that area again, I’m going to have to check out these beautiful doors. 🙂

    • When the girls were young, we went often to the museum. Our favorites areas were the Egyptian galleries and then when the armor court was re-done, that was added to the list. It is, to me, an odd mixture now of old, stately building and very modern construction, but the interior is gorgeous now and the displays even better. And you can’t beat the price!

      janet

  4. pbmgarden says:

    Nice photo of these interesting doors. Would love to visit this museum.

  5. dimlamp says:

    Interesting capture, looks to me like there’s two doors here.

  6. They look like a Mondrian painting without the color!

  7. Norm 2.0 says:

    Frank Lloyd Wright was my very first impression as well. Good choice 🙂

  8. jan says:

    I’ve been to Cleveland – stayed in a lovely old neighborhood called Shaker Heights which is where Lily Tomlin grew up, I think. Very Wrightish door!

  9. Great design, very eye-catching.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

