Anglo-American disconnect

Posted: April 29, 2016 in Miscellaneous
Tags: , , ,

I’m getting behind on my blog reading, but it’s going to get worse before it gets better as I’m off to the Chicago Art Institute today.  That means my Weekly Photo Challenge entry won’t be out until tomorrow.

Today I thought I’d share a sign outside our local Menard’s. Menard’s sells everything for your yard and house, from light and light bulbs to lumber and garden supplies, with the motto of “Save big money at Menard’s.”  However, if they put this sign out in England, people wouldn’t read it as an invitation to stop by and get rolls of sod (turf) for their yards!

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. macmsue says:

    That made me chuckle because I had no idea it meant anything other than, “I’m going back to bed!”

    • We were driving home when I saw this sign. I started laughing and asked my husband to stop when we got close enough to get a good shot. I read lots of British novels, so I knew the meaning. This morning I also found a great site with “British-isms”, many of which are completely different in meaning than what we in the States would think: http://www.effingpot.com/slang.shtml.

      janet

  2. Great sign! I for sure, having acquired English at high school, the Oxford version, would also have interpreted it as offensive. Nice to know that we are still welcome at the shop!

  3. Su Leslie says:

    Oh this is so funny. Perfect example of the saying ‘England and America are two countries divided by a common language’ (attributed to Oscar Wilde and George Bernard Shaw, and sometimes Churchill).

  4. Funny sign, Janet! Enjoy your trip to the museum. I’m Green with envy!
    ~Theadora

    • Happy Friday, Theadora. I put the trip off until next Friday as the weather is less that great today. Make me feel as though I have an extra day, but in reality, I have plenty to do. I realize that I haven’t gotten to your latest post, so I’m going there now post-haste. 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend!!

      janet

      • Yes! Have a wonderful weekend, Janet! I love the Chicago Art Institute. And garden! I just checked out their website. It looks like the Van Gogh’s Bedrooms exhibition will be up through May 10th. Don’t forget to stop by the bookshop. Heaven . . .
        ~T.

  5. When MB saw the pic, before he read the post, he wondered what breed of melancholia had struck down his dear American cousin. And even wondered if he shouldn’t just jump on the first USA bound plane to cheer her up – albeit not having a clue where Yankee cuz lives. But joy of joys, upon reading the post, MB discovered that it was merely the American version of the language that had put him in a needless tizzy. And he was double pleased to discovered that the Yankee doodles have followed the Irish ‘sod’ rather than the English ‘turf’. Praise the Lord indeed. Ireland uber alles!

  6. Know the feeling. Wouldn’t it be nice to do that

  7. pommepal says:

    Oh dear a bad hair day indeed and time to go back under the covers!!!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

