Thursday doors…Carmel #1

Posted: May 5, 2016 in Thursday doors
Tags: , ,

Last summer, our older daughter and I drove straight from LAX, where she’d picked me up, to Napa, a scenic two-day trip along the scenic Pacific Coast Highway, Highway 1. We stayed overnight in Carmel, an arts and tourist town in a beautiful coastal location. We spent a short time in the morning walking from our motel to the beach and then through the town. There were many wonderful doors on both homes and businesses, including this shop entrance. We had to leave all too soon, but both decided it would be a place to revisit.

If you’re a fan of doors, you’ll love Norm’s challenge, running every Thursday through Saturday.

© janet m. webb 2015

Comments
  1. Prior-01 says:

    LOVE the worn out blue –

  2. Hammad Rais says:

    Very nice this is. The old look is giving an extra shine to door here.

  3. I love the colors you succeeded to capture. This town must be paradise for door loving photographers.

  4. A European style village? I’m sure such a thing can only exist outside Europe. 🙂

  5. Dan Antion says:

    I’ve made that trip, albeit, heading south. Wonderful scenery along the coast. That was in the late 70s, back when this door had a fresh coat of paint. It was a great find for Norm’s series. Thanks for sharing it.

  6. I like the way it weathered – handsome door. 🙂 We visited Carmel years ago, and were awed by its beauty.

    • Judy, as I recall, they sold imported and antique goods, so this door fit perfectly. I’d love to go back and spend a bit of time there…and capture more door photos!

      janet

  7. pommepal says:

    Very shabby chic…

  8. joannesisco says:

    I love those old doors with the matching grill above.

    I really like how your signature is artfully attached to each of your photos. In this one, it looks so perfect along the top of the door 🙂

    • There were many beautiful doors here, Joanne. I’m just glad I took photos of a few, as I didn’t know about the challenge then.

      Thanks for the comment about my signature. I try to put it somewhere a bit unobtrusive (for the most part), but where it couldn’t be easily cut out.

      janet

      • joannesisco says:

        oh – I hadn’t thought of it as a way to prevent stealing of your photo. Very clever.
        … but I still like my version too. You’re also creative 🙂

  9. thirdeyemom says:

    I’d love to go to Carmel and do the drive south someday from LA. I love California!

    • The drive along the coast is spectacular. I’d love to do it again when we had more time to stop and explore. Not many places to stay, though, which makes it more difficult. I’d like to see more of California and as you say, the area south of LA as well.

      janet

  10. badfish says:

    this looks more like India??? Very cool.

  11. Norm 2.0 says:

    Beautiful find! We’ve done the PCH 1 drive but never made it to Carmel. I look forward to seeing more of your pics from there.

  12. A beautifully distressed doorway, Janet. 🙂

  13. Another spot to add to my “gotta visit” list 🙂 Thank you for sharing. I love the color here! 🙂

  14. joanfrankham says:

    What a beautiful find.

  15. Cool doors and sculpture, Janet. I’ve just been looking at bridges in Madison and now doors in Carmel, I wonder why a vision of Clint Eastwood keeps coming into my head……?

  16. Wonderful door. Love the patina.

    • Just one of many beauties, Raewyn.

      janet

      • jesh stg says:

        How nice of your daughter! Used to live in Costa Mesa (Orange county) and now live East of Sacramento, so we’ve driven through Napa, to San Francisco. Have never stopped in Carmel yet:) But this is a great view (and see you did the copyright sign on the door:):) Thanks for visiting me!

      • And thanks for visiting me as well. We wanted to stop in San Francisco, but didn’t have time. Have to save that for another trip.

        janet

      • jesh stg says:

        Whenever you go, visit Lake Park (it’s huge) and of course the coast . I’ve heard of a certain Pier, that seems worth visiting (can’t remember the number of that Pier). So does your daughter live in L.A.? We used to live 5 min. for South Coast Plaza (a well known mall). Dont’t miss traffic!! But I do miss the coast cities! A happy Mothers Day to you:)

      • She lives in Pasadena. My husband and I were in SF a few years ago. He was going to the Oracle World convention and I spent three days exploring, having fun, taking photos, and catching the last day of the America’s Cup. I’d love to go again one day.

      • jesh stg says:

        Used to go to church there (the distances we drove there are insane!). Do you know the Huntington Library Gardens in Pasadena? It’s worth a visit – such variety! Many of my flower pics on my blog came from there:)

      • Yes! Our daughter got a membership while I was there and we spend a lot of time there one day. I did a few posts with the resulting photos but have lots, lots more. Amazing place.

  17. dimlamp says:

    interesting choice.

  18. I’ve made that trip more than once living smack dab in the middle of both since I was 10. That door is lovely! I don’t think I’ve ever seen though! What a find!

    I hope you get to come back and are able to spend more than a day in the area. If you do email me! It would be great fun hanging out, and photographing stuff together.

  19. tgeriatrix says:

    Nice door which might have seen better days! I like your signature across the door!

  20. Totally Carmel. Great door.

  21. I love love love rustic looking things like this!!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

