Urban canyonlands

Posted: May 14, 2016 in Miscellaneous, Personal
Tags: , , ,

I hadn’t been into “the city” (Chicago) for many months, but as the Art Institute was showing the Van Gogh’s Bedrooms exhibit and I had a free pass, I decided to make the trip.  Fortunately, we live in a suburb with a metra train line that goes right to Union Station and my husband, now working mostly from home, could drop me off, as parking near the station is difficult.

I chose to leave early, even though I’d arrive in the city with several hours in hand. If I went later, instead of a half hour trip, I’d be on the milk run train, stopping in every suburb between here and Chicago and consuming one and a half hours.  I’d already scoped out a bakery/coffee shop that sounded good and was more or less along the mile or so walk between station and Art Institute, so I went early, Kindle and camera in my bag.

Walking slowly in the crowd of disembarked commuters, I was brought to internal laughter by the irony of bright, cheerful ads for Colorado.  We were in the semi-gloom of a station in the midst of the third most populated city in the US and there were the pristine mountains and streams of the West.  I filled my soul with numerous looks as everyone trudged for the doorway.

The final irony was this decorated set of stairs leading up and out into the canyonlands of not Colorado, but Chicago.

© janet m. webb 2016

Dwarfed in the urban canyons.

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

Today, I’m in the eastern urban canyons of Philadelphia.  Enjoy your weekend!

 

Comments
  1. Prior-2001 says:

    oh great up views in the windy city – and I love when we find CO anywhere… for example, last year down in Florida on vacay – the house next door had their daughter’s SUV sitting for her and there was CO plates – – and every day I was welcomed with the nice CO that way – which is a place I love…. and I wa shopping to see some of the art in the museum – but what you gave us was nice… – hope you have a nice time in PA!

  2. Very interesting experience, and I liked the comparison and contrast made between Colorado and the city canyons.
    Hope you had a good time at the museum.
    Enjoy the weekend.

  3. Nice shots. I like shooting reflections off of city buildings. i think they’re so interesting.
    Happy Saturday. Randy

  4. I do love those reflections that you have captured.

  5. cwaugh212 says:

    Love the reflected clouds in the sky.

  6. Dan Antion says:

    I’ve only ad one opportunity to walk around Chicago. Thanks for the memory jog.

  7. Great reflections, Janet. Love the image behind that staircase. 🙂

  8. Ingrid says:

    I always enjoy visiting the Art Institute. We left the Chicago burbs in the 90’s and never looked back. We officially refer to ourselves as Coloradans having called Colorado home for more than 25 years 🙂

  9. jan says:

    I lived in Evanston for a couple of years and it was always a treat to ride the L down to the Art Institute. I love the Georgia O’keefe that was hung over the train tracks.

  10. […] you on the train from Naperville into “the city”, AKA Chicago. We’ve seen the urban canyonlands and a few items from the Art Institute of Chicago.  Last week, I shared photos of the Bean from […]

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

