Weekly Photo Challenge: Face…Let’s face it.

Posted: May 17, 2016 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , ,

 There are a lot of places you hear the word “face” used.

Face your fears.
He’s such a two-faced liar.
The Three Faces of Eve.
You have to face the facts ( or the consequences.)
She’s not just another pretty face.
I turned the corner and came face to face with my best friend.

Let’s face it.  These visages found at the Art Institute of Chicago aren’t your run-of-the-mill faces.  Even if they’re faces only a mother could love, it’s as plain as the nose on your face that they’re unique.  And which of us hasn’t felt the way that second face looks! But I could talk until I’m blue in the face.  To see what faces other bloggers have chosen, just click here.

You get the face you build your whole life, with work and loving and grieving and laughing and frowning.
~Catherynne M. Valente, The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There

© janet m. webb 2016

A mask tells us more than a face.
~Oscar Wilde

© janet m. webb 2016

Age should not have its face lifted, but it should rather teach the world to admire wrinkles as the etchings of experience and the firm line of character.
  ~Clarence Day, Jr.

Comments
  1. This one caught my attention and prompted me to write about face time for my self, soul and spirit.

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Nice running use of “face”. None of that was new, but I never thought of it like that. Great choices for the prompt too. I like the masks the best. And, I’ll just let my face age however it likes.

  3. “Devil and God – two sides of the same face.”
    ― Dejan Stojanovic

    Dejan Stojanović is a Serbian poet, writer, essayist, philosopher, businessman, and former journalist.

    yin/yang Randy

  4. thirdeyemom says:

    These are wonderful Janet!

    • Thanks, Nicole. Not sure how many entries I’ll be able to see this week, as two of the next three days I work and have something going on afterwards as well and then it will be Friday again. 🙂 I hope spring is coming along well in your part of the Midwest. Looks as though it was rather rainy here while we were gone. The plants are looking more and more like summer, but we’re still having the cooler spring temperatures.

      • thirdeyemom says:

        Yes my husband said it rained every single day while I was away and it actually rained a lot in Europe too! But since I’ve been back, it has been spectacular weather here in Minneapolis. Sunny, blue sky and 70s every day and 80-85 this weekend. I love the next few months in the midwest! It is what we all wait for!

  5. Leya says:

    Nice take on this, Janet. Love the masks.

  6. […] This, that and the other thing Weekly Photo Challenge: Face…Let’s face it. […]

  7. pommepal says:

    Brilliant and imaginative way of facing up to this challenge… 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

