Be(an)ing Escher

Posted: May 24, 2016 in Miscellaneous
Tags: , , ,

I’ve taken you on the train from Naperville into “the city”, AKA Chicago. We’ve seen the urban canyonlands and a few items from the Art Institute of Chicago.  Last week, I shared photos of the Bean from around the outside.  The reflections of the sky, buildings, and people are amazing.  But get under the Bean and everything looks different.  From a quirky distortion of its surroundings you’re taken into the land of M.C. Escher (or into section of the circus fun house with the funky mirrors.)

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. Su Leslie says:

    Fantastic! I’m even more determined to see it now.

  2. v4vikey says:

    Amazing place to go!

  3. Tish Farrell says:

    Oh that’s amazing. I’ve long been convinced that Anish Kapoor is something of shaman. He likes us to join him in states of altered reality.

    • Tish, I like that it’s so different from different places and angles. I haven’t seen any of his other pieces in person, but from what I’ve seen online, I think the Bean is my favorite.

      janet

  4. very nice shots, Janet.

  5. macmsue says:

    Now that certainly gives a weird view of things.

  6. These are fantastic images, Janet, and the first one is a show-stopper. Very other-worldly. Good job!
    Ω

  7. Great vantage point and that first image has me returning and returning. Well done.

  8. Laura says:

    I have only see this on TV but what amazing views you have here. I must visit someday.

  9. thirdeyemom says:

    Super cool shots!

  10. Really cool shots. Love them

  11. pommepal says:

    Oh my that is mind boggling.

  12. Amy says:

    Very cool, Janet! Great shot!

  13. I had a lot of fun one afternoon a few years ago in Chicago taking pictures of The Bean. This post brings back some good memories.

  14. So cool! I spent hours at the Bean shooting and watching people. Thanks for sharing and bringing back my memories.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

