Saturday in the park

Posted: June 7, 2016 in Miscellaneous, Nature
Tags: , , ,

Although all Saturdays should be sunny, beautiful, and empty of things that must be done, the forecast last week was for rain, so I made Friday my Saturday and headed out in the morning with my Nikon ensconced in my camera shoulder bag, my iPhone in my easily-accessible pocket, my soul ready for fulfillment.

The air was still cool when I reached the park.  In the first open area, I gazed over a crop of dew-bejeweled spider webs.  They were everywhere, hundreds of them, each a different, appealing shape.  My two cameras were working overtime and I soon realized my index finger was going to get a workout.  Just one more shot and then I’ll stop.  Just one more. Just…  Add to that all those raindrops  on the plants.  I have no resistance when it comes to drop shots, either.  Ahh, well, there are worse addictions.

Daisies, wild iris, and a plethora of other flowers provided colors in contrast to the verdant green.  The sun grew warmer, birds sang.  Should have put on mosquito repellent, but I think the only bites were from a persistent, now dead, fly. I crept slowly to the edge of the river in search of frogs.  None in the usual spots, but of course as I moved to take other photos, I startled one into an enormous jump that took it into the river.  Drat!  No heron today, but driving through the parking lot prior to leaving, I spotted a egret on the hunt for sushi.  Not sure how many shots I took while sitting on a sun-warmed rock.  He walked slowly, stopped, stretched his neck, froze, went into slow-motion again,  once or twice ate.  As I got up to leave, a shriek and another plop indicated I’d once again failed in frog hunting.  Ah, well, it was a good morning.  And it was only a bit after 9 am! My plan for the rest of the morning was to push all my indoor work to Saturday, have some breakfast, do a few errands, and spend time downtown with my camera, searching for flowers, animals, people, and doors for the Thursday Doors challenge.  I’m happy to report all went according to plan.

Comments
  1. Sounds like a lovely day!

  2. nowathome says:

    That sounds like a great day out!

  3. Can’t wait to see the pics from this!!!

  4. So where are all the photos?

  5. Great early start to your weekend, Janet. Sounds like you got a lot done. 🙂

  6. Now you’ve got us all curious to see the photographic results! Like your description of a soul fulfilling outing 🙂

  7. Dan Antion says:

    I look forward to seeing the results 🙂

    • You will, Dan, but this was to satisfy the writer in me.

      janet

      • Dan Antion says:

        Giving all the muses equal time. I like that.

      • When I started my blog, it was pretty much all writing. Then I veered more towards photos, but was writing once a week with Friday Fictioneers. I’m not doing that right now, but trying to get in a bit of writing somewhat regularly.

      • Dan Antion says:

        It’s funny how this evolves. I used to include one or two photos at most. I got so many comments about photos, that I started including more, but I still enjoy writing. I enjoy your photos and your writing, so however you mix it up, I’ll be here.

        I did mean to mention that I had the “Saturday in the park” song stuck in my head until I finally remembered that it was by Chicago.

  8. bythebriny says:

    Sounds like a very productive morning…can’t wait to see the pictures!

  9. pommepal says:

    Sounds an idyllic day and very productive photo wise. Now I will wait patiently to see them…

  10. What a great day! Sorry about the frog. I’ve done that. Hope to see an image or two down the road.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

