Thursday Doors…horizontal doors

Posted: June 16, 2016 in Thursday doors
Tags: , ,

Not all doors are vertical, aren’t even meant to be.  They’re not falling down.  You can walk all over them and they still do their job.  They’re cellar doors.  You find them on farms, providing shelter for jars of preserves and vegetables, hiding spiders in the dark corners.  You find them in cities like Philadelphia, fronting many of the row houses as well as businesses.  I found these in St. Charles, Missouri’s lovely historic area.  My husband and his friend were starting a cross-state bike ride on the Kady Trail.  I, driving the support vehicle, had the better part of three days to relax, enjoy, and take photos.

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. These are very cool 🙂 you dont see these very often 🙂

  2. ksbeth says:

    great shot –

  3. claywatkins says:

    and to keep the wind out and people safe when the wind blows up severe storm… Looks like a fun ride across Missouri, especially when you are support services.. Have fun and enjoy the scenery.

    • You’re right, Clay, I forgot about that vital purpose. The ride was lots of fun, especially for me, as I could relax, enjoy, and take photos. 🙂 My husband and I also did the Michelson Trail in South Dakota’s Black Hills with me as support once more. That was a beauty, too!

      janet

  4. jpeggytaylor says:

    Wonderful textures and I bet these old doors could tell a tale or two. Here in England, I always associate cellar doors with pubs. We see them in pavements outside of pubs, often closed, but sometimes open when the brewery lorry is delivering another cargo 🙂

  5. GeorgieMoon says:

    Great photo! I never thought of a door on the floor!

  6. joannesisco says:

    Ooooh, great door choice!

    It was only earlier this year I saw a set of these in-ground cellar doors for the first time – on an old homestead from the 1800s. They always make me think of tornado movies … because that was the extent of my previous exposure to them 🙂

  7. Norm 2.0 says:

    An excellent choice Janet! This is a great shot with lots of mood and texture. I think these are our first cellar/storm doors – cool 🙂

    • I was going through older photo files and started finding various doors, including these. I guess I was a Thursday Doors person before I was a Thursday Doors person. 🙂 These cellar doors have lots of character. I think the cellar door on my grandparents’ farm was metal: practical but boring.

      janet

  8. pommepal says:

    Well seen and a great take on the doors this week Janet. Never seen any cellar doors like that in Australia. Must be some so I will have to be more observant.

  9. Nice old doors! I have seen cellar doors before, but they were the boring metal ones, kind of ugly. These are picturesque and tell quite a history.

  10. joey says:

    There aren’t nearly as many cellar doors out my way anymore — great find! 🙂

  11. Really neat weathered cellar doors! We don’t see these here where I live.

    I think you had the best ride being the SAG driver too. 🙂

    • Yes, being the SAG driver is almost pure fun and allows lots of time for photos, tourism and, on this trip, even wine tasting. I didn’t realize Missouri had lots of vineyards and the one I chose for it’s Italian name had some more than decent wines.

      janet

      • That sounds like a great trip! Hope Hubby’s ride went well too.

        He-Man had a dream of riding across country many, many years ago with an organized group.
        Life, and his other riding goals kept him from doing it, then two years ago he ruptured his patella tendon. He’s been back on the saddle and building up his distance again for a while now. Who knows where I’ll be following him next. 🙂

      • It was a great ride. I really enjoyed the one he did in South Dakota on the Michelson Trail in the Black Hills. I had a great time and saw very few people. He did it in two days and had fun, too. They recommend bear spray there, just in case. Not sure where the next adventure will be. I’m riding with him a little now, but nothing along these lines. 🙂

  12. Brilliant, Janet. I don’t think there’s been any horizontal doors submitted yet. I love that old sun-bleached wood.

  13. Brilliant find. Love this shot

  14. jesh stg says:

    These kind of doors are familiar to me. In Holland they have them in the old parts of the city. Great find!

  15. de Wets Wild says:

    Here in South Africa we only see doors like these in American horror movies – which is why I won’t ever open one! 😀

  16. dimlamp says:

    Doors that lay down on the job.;-)

  17. dimlamp says:

    Now that’s a dream job! 🙂

  18. Great shots of these unusual doors, Janet. I suppose there are steps underneath, leading down to a cellar.

    • I hope so or it would be a long drop! 🙂 Sometimes businesses have some sort of lift/dumbwaiter inside to lower supplies down. But I didn’t see what was inside these doors.

      janet

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

