A literary bird

Posted: June 24, 2016 in Nature
Tags: , ,

No Photo Challenge for me today.  A taxi will call/called (depending on when you read this) for me at 3 am this morning (yes, a.m., you read that correctly) to take me to the airport for a 5:45 am Southwest Airlines flight to the City of Brotherly Love, Philadelphia, to visit daughter #2 (in birth order, not love.)  I’m being really daring:  not taking my laptop, only my iPad and iPhone, and Nikon sans telephoto (probably.)  But I don’t plan to spend much time online, so that’s OK.  It’s family time.  🙂

Last week I was walking back to my van from another trip to the library, my favorite downtown (or anywhere) destination when a large bird flew by quite close to me, landing on the tree lawn not far away.  Looked like a hawk to me, so I ran over to find I was right.  A large one with a wing span of about 2′ or more, it didn’t have any books, but wasn’t in any hurry to leave.  I got my phone out and walked as slowly as possible, snapping shots every few steps, just in case it took wing.  Finally it flew across the street and stopped again.  Only a few drivers seemed to wonder what I was seeing and I got a few more shots before it took off for somewhere less busy.  A large smile stayed on my face for some time.

Between the bright sunshine and only having a phone camera, the shots aren’t stellar, but I think they’re good enough to give you an idea of how magnificent the hawk was and why the sighting made me so happy.

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. yes, indeed. that is a beauty. i’d be smiling too. in fact i am at your sighting and follow up. have fun on your travels. aloha.

  2. Tish Farrell says:

    Happy family gathering, Janet.

  3. Pawsome! Pawkisses for a Happy Weekend 🙂 ❤

  4. The bird is the word…
    Ω

  5. lisakunk says:

    Doesn’t look to annoyed by a human presence. Enjoy the family.

  6. thirdeyemom says:

    Have a wonderful visit Janet! Yes it is good to leave it all at home
    And take a break!

    • A break is always good, Nicole. It’s past 10:30 pm and I’m still awake!! But off to bed shortly and a good day today.

      • thirdeyemom says:

        Yes, I’m feeling I need one too. I am spending so much time on the posts and sometimes they don’t get read much. I get a little feeling burnt out on the blog so I think it is good to take break, enjoy time away from it all and then come back refreshed. Enjoy your stay! We are heading on a family trip ourselves tomorrow to northern MN and I am ready for a break too! 🙂

      • Safe travels and enjoy!

  7. jan says:

    Have a nice break! Hawks are beautiful but you may have interrupted his breakfast!

  8. Victoria says:

    Have a wonderful time with your daughter.

  9. Wonderful moment Janet.

  10. nowathome says:

    hope you had a great time Janet!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

