Thursday Doors…old doors

Posted: June 30, 2016 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , , ,

As many of you know, last weekend I was in Philadelphia, a city that has many old, beautiful doors.  We did a lot of walking and my poor daughter was constantly hearing me say, “Oh, I have to take a shot of that door.”  (And I passed a LOT of shots!!)  This challenge has taken my natural tendency to photograph doors to a whole new level.

The three doors I’m featuring today are from last summer’s trip to Missouri, taken while my husband and his friend were riding the Kady Trail.  Missouri has a long history as these varied doors show.  The third one is an old jail door.

Just FYI…starting this morning and going until mid-July, I won’t be online much, although I will keep posting each day.  I’m off on a trip to France, so although I still love to read comments and will reply when I can, I won’t be doing much visiting.  I’ll make it up to you when I get home, I promise.  🙂  Meanwhile, have a marvelous summer (or winter, if you’re down under somewhere) and blog on!!

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. I love your doors, once again. The first one is just like a really old photo, lovely.
    Enjoy your trip to France. I expect you will see many nice doors there too, and of course a lot of other things. Have a save trip!.

  2. GeorgieMoon says:

    What fabulous doors you have found for us this week! Enjoy your trip to France, looking forward to some great photos.

  3. I love the doors and the whole house…I would like to buy the house in the first house… it talked to me somehow… and practically I could get a credit from my own bank :o)

    • That first one was an old store on one side and a bank on the other, both out of business now. You could probably buy them both for not too much money. 🙂

      Heading over to France tomorrow. I’ll wave as I go over.

      janet

  4. dimlamp says:

    Interesting collection, is the third photo a jail door?

  5. Lignum Draco says:

    Is the fire station still in use? Nice selections.

    Enjoy your trip.

  6. Beautiful doors! Enjoy your vacation!

    • Glad you like the doors, Terri. It was a great three-day trip, especially for me, just taking photos and relaxing. 🙂 I’m sure you’ll see and hear more about the vacation as it goes along.

      janet

  7. Joyce says:

    Safe travels, Janet. We will be gone too in July for a while as we are celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary with an Alaskan cruise and land tour of Fairbanks, Denali Park, Mt. McKinley and port stops down the coast on the Princess Coral on the Inside Passage. We leave on July 13th. It is our first cruise and first trip to Alaska, so we are excited. Our girls gave us a real nice surprise anniversary party recently with a night at one of our famous hotels in Estes Park, The Stanley which I am posting pics and story about this weekend. Anyway, have fun on your trip, be safe and we plan to do the same.

  8. Love that old jail door, Janet. Have a great time in France, fingers crossed for good weather for you.

    • Jean, the weather in the Voges, where I’ll be, looks good for at least the next 10 days or so. It’s rained before when we’ve been there, so I’m ready for that, too. But I’d love some sunshine!

      janet

  9. Norm 2.0 says:

    Awesome shots. Looking forward to seeing your Philly doors, plus imagine all the ones you’ll bring back from France!
    Save travels 🙂

    • I have a surprise for Dan, because I went to Elfreth’s Alley, which he recommended in Philly, the oldest residential street in the US. But I didn’t tell him and I have lots of door photos from there which I’ll share when I have more time to organize everything. I know I’ll have some more doors from France, too, although we won’t be in the city too much.

      janet

  10. joey says:

    Wonderful! 🙂

  11. Enjoyed viewing the varieties of doors, Janet. I like them all. What is the last one? It looks like a mausoleum in a cemetery. Interesting photographs …. Isadora 😎

    • The last one’s an old stone jail, Izzy. Better hope there weren’t too many miscreants at one time and in the summer, it would have been very hot!

      janet

      • Thank you for letting me know about the photograph, Janet. I would imagine consideration for the prisoner was at the bottom of their list. It has great architecture. It would make a beautiful garden shed.
        Have a wonderful weekend. Izzy 😎

  12. jan says:

    Great finds! You can’t beat that jail door though.

  13. That jail door is built to last. Have a safe trip, Janet.
    Ω

    • And it has lasted, Allen. 🙂 I’ll do my best on the safe travel front, but as I’ll be flying, I don’t have much today about it!

      • If you can get a window seat it is a good time to learn to use Hipstamatic. I have hundreds of airplane wings and clouds in dozens of combinations from my travels in the last two years. It helped me to get an idea of how the app works and how to make it work for me.

        Good luck & blue skies,
        Ω

      • Unfortunately for Hipstamatic, I chose an aisle seat for ease of exit in case I want to walk around or use the bathroom. 🙂 One of these days, I’ll read the “instructions” online and work on it.

      • That also works.
        Ω

  14. slfinnell says:

    You were in my neck of the woods!! 🙂 I’m right next to the Katy Trail. Lived here since it was still an active railroad. of course the bike trail is now much more peaceful. lol

  15. Su Leslie says:

    Hope you have a wonderful time away Janet. Look forward to seeing some photos when you return. Su

    • Thanks, Su. You can count on seeing photos from my trip, probably some at least before I get home. I’m doing some posts in advance so I don’t have to take the time right away. Vacations are times for relaxing, but you know I’ll be blogging every day anyway. 🙂

  16. I adore the Fire House/City Hall, and your presentation of the Merchantile Co, and Bank.

    That little jail seems like it was in a lonely spot.

    I wish you a wonderful vacation, et Bon Voyage! I’m a bit jealous. 🙂

  17. Victoria says:

    Have a wonderful time in France. Be safe.

    • Thanks, Victoria. I’m sure I’ll have a wonderful time and I’ll do what I can to stay safe. I chose to fly to Basel via Frankfurt rather than Paris, as the latter seems to be the epicenter for bad people these days. We’ll also mostly be in the country, so that’s good from a safely POV as well as just fun and relaxing.

      janet

  18. joannesisco says:

    This jail reminds me of the storage cellar in my post. {shudder}

  19. Prior-2001 says:

    I like the last door -the iron and the open feel – just interesting –
    and safe travels J….
    my my my do you seem to travel a lot – have fun!

  20. Suvi says:

    Love these especially the jail, yikes! Wishing you fantastic trip to France 😎

  21. Dan Antion says:

    These are great doors. Janet. I love the jail, but the building housing the fire department and city hall is pretty cool too. My favorite is the Mercantile Company, though. It makes me think of simpler times, when you could get everything you needed at one place (and it wasn’t called Amazon).

    • Ah, yes, Dan, I’m old enough to remember pre-Amazon days and (gasp!) even pre-internet days. Glad you enjoyed the doors and I hope you’re getting ready to enjoy a long, Fourth of July weekend.

  22. Great shots of that town in Missouri. Safe travels to France and have fun.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

