In the Franche-Comte

Posted: July 5, 2016 in Nature, Travel
Tags: , , ,

It’s been another beautiful day in the Franche-Comte, possibly one of the most under-rated and unknown, at least to Americans, areas of France.  Hills, mountains, and forests characterize the area; the eponymous Comte cheese is one of the delicious attractions. If you click on the above link and find Lure on the map, you’ll know basically where I am.

Each day we walk in the forest, suitably attired to keep the numerous ticks from attaching to any part of us.  The dogs must be carefully checked when we return.  The last time I was here, we searched each time for mushrooms, death trumpets which, despite their name, are not only harmless but delicious. Unfortunately, they aren’t in season. (I’d include a link, but as I’m on my iPad, I’m horribly frustrated by its lack of ease and cooperation. Just trust me: they’re difficult to find and well worth the effort.)

Anyway, here are a few shots of what it’s like here.

Copyright janet m. webb 2016

copyright janet m. webb 2016

Not everything is large. On moss-covered logs, you’ll see a microcosm of the surrounding forest.

copyright janet m. webb 2016

Bonjour!

Comments
  1. I agree this part of france is mostly not on the list for a howl-i-day… but maybe that’s good too, so you can enjoy nature as it is without the common tourist-circus. Will you see a part of the Tour too?

    • I agree that the lack of people can be a plus. No Tour stage in person this year, only on TV or checking in on my iPad. We did see a stage two years ago and perhaps we’ll catch one again some day.

      janet

  2. Et bonjour Madame Janet – from hot & sticky Doha, Qatar. I see you are quite close to Chamonix, where I visited last year (for a day) during one of my trips to Geneva. Nice part of Europe. Keep well.

  3. Tish Farrell says:

    Bonjour indeed. It looks like you’re having a lovely time.

    • I am, Tish. We’re having lovely weather, too, something I appreciate in a place where I’ve often experienced lots of rain. But it’s vacation. Who’s complaining???

      janet

  4. nowathome says:

    Bonjour Janet! It is really beautiful there!

  5. julieallyn says:

    Lovely!!

    After a day’s walk everything has twice its usual value. ~George Macauley Trevelyan

  6. thirdeyemom says:

    Gorgeous! Never been to this part of France.

  7. Tina Schell says:

    Have spent a good bit of time in France but must admit haven’t heard of this area. Looks quite
    Lovely. Enjoy!

  8. Gorgeous photos, Janet. I love the green/yellow combinations in the last one.
    Ω

  9. Dan Antion says:

    It looks beautiful. I can see why you return each day.

  10. Your relatives live in the forest? Funny, you don’t look elvish. Gremlinish?

  11. ledrakenoir says:

    Agree it’s a bit sad that so few know about this wonderful part of France – located just south of Alsace where I live so I visit it from time to time – Belfort a city worth visiting too – no doubt the cheeses are excellent… 🙂

    • Yes, the cheeses are excellent and I always try to test them. 😉 all I’ve seen of Belfort is the TGV station. But we drive all over and I love doing that and seeing the country. Too bad we can’t meet for coffee.

      janet

      • ledrakenoir says:

        Frédéric Auguste Bartholdi was a french sculptor who is best known for designing the Statue of Liberty and the Lion of Belfort, actually he was born in Colmar (Alsace). 🙂

        Have friends living in Belfort, every time they visit us – so they always remember some cheese for me… 😀

        Yeah I’m always ready for coffee… 🙂

        .

      • We’re going to visit Colmar. I’ve heard it’s beautiful.

      • ledrakenoir says:

        Very charming and historical city absolutly worth visiting – and the locals are so open-minded – not a large city at all, but a city many fall in love in the architecture, atmosphere and the food/wine too… 🙂

  12. Beautiful spot to go walking. Lovely photos Janet

  13. bythebriny says:

    Missed this post yesterday…gorgeous woodsy photos.

  14. Madhu says:

    Wonderful snapshots Janet! I am a huge Francophile and hope to get there myself someday. Have fun! 😉

  15. joannesisco says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who has trouble with WordPress on my iPad. It is so frustrating I usually give up!

    • Right now I’m in the mountains in Wyoming and, although there is Internet, it’s very slow and I can only get it in some places. My phone doesn’t want to connect even though my iPad will and when they’re both connected, my phone photos won’t transfer, so posting is going to be interesting. I may have to post about it when I get back, as I don’t plan to be online too much. Can’t get my photos sent to my laptop, either. Sigh.

      janet

      • joannesisco says:

        Being without internet feels so – wrong 😉

        Have fun with the rest of your vacation … with or without internet!

      • Thanks. Being without internet, or fast internet, is good in a way, as I don’t want to be online much. But I do want to post and that takes so much longer. Wasn’t that many years ago we couldn’t even get internet here, so I’m grateful for what we have.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

