Thursday Doors…famous French doors

Posted: July 14, 2016 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , , , ,

Perhaps these doors in Plombières-les-Bains aren’t famous in and of themselves, but those found behind them at various times were.  People of all ranks and classes enjoyed the thermal baths throughout the centuries, baths of 85 degrees Centigrade/185 Fahrenheit. Let’s hope some cold water was added!  But whether you bathed in them or drank the mineral-filled waters, you might have been in illustrious company. And who knew whom you might pass on the streets?

copyright janet m. webb 2016

copyright janet m. webb 2016

copyright janet m. webb 2016

 

Comments
  1. Prior-2001 says:

    Thanks for the history – and the handles in your doors are most interesting – especially the first one – is it loose?
    Anyhow – so interesting how only the right side door has the little bitty handle –
    😉

    • Not sure about the handle. But I’ve got photos of SO many doors!! Once I get home, I’ll have a bazillion posts about my trip. 😉

      janet

      • Prior-2001 says:

        Looking forward to it – and I love the little details that show up later when we look closely at some of them – sometimes a nice surprise awaits – or some do not turn out as good….
        Anyhow – the first set of doors with the diamond design reminds me of French clowns (?) – maybe a connection to Voltaire or he other stuff – hmm

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I love the transom window on the second door. The iron work is beautiful.

  3. Norm 2.0 says:

    Some serious history in these ones. Seems like you’re having a blast. Looking forward to hearing all about it when you get back.
    In the meantime I’m gonna pick the first one as my fave, but only because I’m really not a fan of Napolean 😉

    • No problem, Norm. Choose whichever you like. Yes, I’m having a great time and although it’s always good to get home, I’m sad to have only a couple of days left.

      janet

  4. Lignum Draco says:

    Beautiful doors and a lot of history there. The architectural textures and details must have you enthralled.

    Happy Bastille Day to you. I hope you enjoy the celebrations over there.

    • We’ve been back there several times and if we had more time, we’d be at one of the spas. The architecture and setting are just marvelous. It’s definitely the find of the trip and is even somewhere my s-I-l didn’t know about.

      janet

  5. dimlamp says:

    I like that blue door, if only it could talk…

  6. joey says:

    Beautiful doors, and I love that placard! Very nice finds! 🙂

  7. joannesisco says:

    Illustrious company, indeed!!

  8. Candy says:

    Each one has abeauty all its own

  9. bythebriny says:

    I love that French blue.

  10. jesh stg says:

    my goodness, the big guns,eh? Josephine’s door is my favorite! After you’re back home, I like to know what your most favorite thing was in Paris. For me it was Musee de Picasso (of course).

  11. klara says:

    beautiful iron work on the second door.

  12. Such history associated with these doors! I love the second one with the ironwork.

  13. Great historical doors, Janet, enjoy the last of your holiday. Looking forward to some more of your photos.

  14. […] Last Thursday, I introduced you just briefly to Plombières Les Bains, one of two new favorite cities of mine in France, each with many, many beautiful doors.  There’s plenty of information online about it, unfortunately mostly in French.  The Wikipedia entry in English is notable only for its paucity of information in comparison to the French version! […]

  15. marianallen says:

    What beautiful doors! I do love that ironwork, but the blue-on-blue and diamond-shaped detail is charming.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

