Into the wild blue yonder

Posted: July 24, 2016 in Personal, Travel
Tags: , , , , , ,

You know I’ve been to France recently.  (Did I really only get back one week ago???)  Here’s how the trip start, aboard a Lufthansa jet from Chicago to Frankfurt with a connecting flight to Basel.  With all that’s been going on in Europe, I avoided Paris, which seems to be a sort of terrorism magnet.

After I checked in (nice that they had a line for online check-in customers), I found myself at the end of a very long security line…that wasn’t moving.  Evidently there weren’t enough TSA people to open it, but when it finally opened, we flew, so to speak, through, without having to take off shoes or take anything out of our carry-on bags.

Finally found myself aboard and when we were all loaded, this face was staring back at me.

IMG_2064

Although she was rather vocal, I was thankful to find that she slept during the night.  🙂  That’s “The Magnificent Seven” I was watching, but that was the only movie for me.  I had my Kindle and generally prefer reading.  I even managed to doze off a bit.  As morning dawned, this sight met my eyes during a walk to the back of the plane.  All imperfections are due to the plane window, but the view was wonderful.  I also saw some lights in Iceland at one point.

IMG_2065

We arrived in Frankfurt in good time, whizzed through passport control, and I found my b-i-l, who works for Lufthansa and was there to fly to Basel with me.  That’s where things went a bit wonky.  We were all on the bus ready to be transported to the plane, when we  had to go back into the airport because of a mechanical problem.  Five minutes later, the flight was cancelled.  In the meantime, we’d found out that one of their dogs was deathly ill due to a tick bite and my s-i-l, who had to pick us up in Basel, was taking  her to the vet.

IMG_2068

Thank goodness for a b-i-l law who knows the Frankfurt airport like his own home.  We left everyone else trying to get vouchers, speed walked about ten miles (exaggeration) to get our bags, hopped onto the train to the train station, shoved our bags into a large locker, and spent a bit of time walking around the city.  It started raining, but we made it to the market and had some lunch of bratwurst in brotchen, German rolls.  Then back to the train station and aboard the TGV for Belfort, much closer to home than Basel, and the fight to stay awake.  I won, but not by much.  What a relief to eventually arrive at their house in the quiet of the Voges forest!  It had been a long day!

© janet m. webb

All aboard! Frankfurt train station

You can bet I was ready for vacation!

Comments
  1. Sue says:

    Goodness, lucky you had company who knew the way around, or you could have been in for a long wait…..

  2. Oh that sure was a long trip… it was a good decision to avoid Paris this time, sadly my parents wouldn’t listen and are on the way today instead to wait till tomorrow… bet they have fun with the last day of the tour while they will cross Paris … oh my :o(

    • “Oh, my” is right! Good luck to them. What a Tour this year, with so many crashes, the weirdness on Mt. Ventoux, etc.! Froome and his team were amazing, but I’m glad Bardet and Quintana made it onto the podium.

      janet

  3. Su Leslie says:

    Nothing like some travel chaos to get your holiday off to an invigorating start!

  4. Vacationing is wonderful. Visiting family is great. Seeing Europe is a dream come true. Traveling, however, is not fun anymore. It is really an ugly job to get from Point A to Point B. 🙂

    • Flying certainly isn’t what it used to be, for better or worse, but this is the first time I’ve had this sort of thing happen on a trip to Europe. Had one flight cancelled in the States years ago when we were flying with the girls and they were still little. Other than that, the security silliness is the most annoying and it’s very different in Europe. This time coming back, I was supposed to take out my toiletries bag and all my electronics, whereas I thought I only had to take out my iPad. So there was a bit of a kurfluffle, but no one was nasty, I wasn’t dragged to the side or yelled at. They asked permission to go through the bag, then put everything back through the machine, and I was on my way. Not always like that here and possibly not always there, either. I’m not a likely-looking terror suspect. 🙂

      janet

  5. We flew into the Frankfurt airport too. My husband came from his job in Afghanistan to meet me there. That’s where we learned how to use the trains, too – and I think the trains were my favorite part of the trip! I’m so enjoying hearing your recap 🙂

    • When they lived in Provence, I flew into Paris and then took the TGV to Avignon. Always enjoyed the train part of the trip. I’m happy you’re enjoying the recap. There will be more. 🙂

      janet

  6. Dan Antion says:

    Do good to have options and someone who knew which ones would work. The Magnificent Seven is one of my favorite movies.

    it sounds like your trip was a success. I like the photo of the train station.

  7. badfish says:

    Great post. I had a run in with TSA folks in Amsterdam. Treated me like a criminal. I had to get back in her face to settle her down. life’s too short, travel should be fun

  8. Hope the dog is now fine. I always find it disconcerting on planes or even in restaurants, when a persistent little head keeps popping up and staring at me. 🙂

    • The dog is doing wonderfully, Sylvia. This little head made quite a lot of noise for a time, but did finally sleep, for which I’m sure many of us were grateful. 🙂

      janet

  9. Woolly Muses says:

    I cannot believe that just because passengers check in online they do not have to go through ‘proper’ security checks/inspection. We are off in a month or so for a European visit, also. If I don’t pack this week…next weekend has been designated packing weekend’ So I have been informed :-).

  10. nowathome says:

    Lucky you had b-i-l ! I would have been lost!

  11. lexklein says:

    Oh, the joys of travel … but I guess all’s well that ends well!

  12. joannesisco says:

    I really dislike the ‘travelling’ part of travelling. I’m still holding out that the Star Trek transporter will be figured out in my lifetime 😉

    These kinds of delays and cancellations are always a bit unnerving at the best of times, let alone when you’re sleep deprived. Thankfully it ended well for you 🙂

    • Transporter! Yes! 🙂 Travel delays are more difficult when you don’t speak the language and even though the people at the airlines spoke great English, there’s the matter of getting to all the places after they’re done telling you what should happen. 🙂

      janet

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

