I’ve arrived. Now what?

Posted: July 26, 2016 in Travel
Tags: , , , ,

Having survived the arrival blues with the help of my b-i-l, it was now time to relax.  And explore.  Every day, my s-i-l and I took the dogs for a walk, all the dogs except for Lily, the dog that was deathly ill from a tick bite.  Although there’s always danger of ticks in the forest, this year the evil little critters are particularly plentiful, so despite the heat, we went out in long pants, long-sleeved shirts, brimmed hats over pulled-back hair, and all exposed parts sprayed with repellent.  We thoroughly checked the dogs during and after the walk and ourselves as well.  Despite the care, there were always ticks to be drowned.  Ticks aren’t just in the forests of France  We have them here in Naperville and they could easily be near you.  So do take care and do the same for mosquitoes.  Too many bad diseases being transmitted by them these days.

But enough of that. Our mornings began with tea.  I was able to try some African teas that my b-i-l had brought back and served as the tea-rista for everyone most of the time.

ABC9B9A5-D2D9-4ADC-8867-B9191959784A

The forests around us have been inhabited for thousands of years.  The Celts were here, perhaps built this very wall.

729562F3-1200-460D-84F3-D72C0D4C4325

9F6C4935-3C95-4991-85BF-C57810AAA5B5

You can look out from certain spots.

14255A41-103C-4721-8A34-B262760FA632

But be sure to look down as well.  There’s life all around, even in the moss that grows on downed trees.

17E5DE43-E68C-4369-B3BE-D6FE3AEC0CD9

Throughout the day, I refreshed my soul by glimpses of this view.

1B933341-AE62-48B8-AF49-F6DADFD49D97

Every morning we explored the near.  In the afternoons, we explored the far(ther.)

 

 

Comments
  1. A grand adventure, Janet.
    Ω

  2. Janet , what are those on the 5th photo? those brown thing? 🙂

  3. Lena says:

    Beautiful place and those ticks are really a pain in the ***. I’m sorry for your dog 😦

    • Lily had a bad time of it as did my s-i-l and b-i-l, as one of them was up with her all the time for the first week or more. The drugs made her nauseous, which meant what little she ate, she threw up, making a mess that had to be cleaned and lots and lots of laundry. We’re so glad she not only made it, but seems to be doing quite well now. (She’s their dog, not mine.)

      janet

  4. It looks and sounds like you had a marvelous time. Ticks are a topic we deal with regularly here in NH. We have one of the highest rates in the nation. They are a formidable foe.

    • That they are, Judy, and have a terrible effect for such small things. When I’m in Wyoming next week, I’ll be much more careful and won’t, even in the heat, but hiking in shorts!

      janet

  5. Dan Antion says:

    Ticks are such an annoyance. As careful as you might be, they manage to find a home on you and, especially the dogs. Still, these photos were worth (your) effort 🙂

    Thanks for sharing them with us.

    • My pleasure, Dan. It’s beautiful in the forest there and it was a joy to walk every day. I could do without the ticks, but we were careful, especially after the incident with Lily, although my s-i-l had been very careful about checking the dogs before. Ticks are just so small that it makes it very difficult to find them.

      janet

  6. bythebriny says:

    The countryside looks beautiful, too bad about the ticks! Glad to hear your in-laws’ dog survived.

  7. Norm 2.0 says:

    We’ve never had an issue with ticks and I hope to keep it that way. We always wear long pants and long sleeves on hikes.
    Lovely shots Janet. It looks like a wonderful place to visit 🙂

    • It’s a great place, Norm…unless you yearn for the lights and sounds of the city. I’m happy in these these types of places when I vacation with maybe an occasional visit to the city.

  8. Cute kettle! Dog walking sounds like good exercise, but I don’t like the sound of those insects. Keep on spraying, Janet. 🙂

  9. Beautiful countryside, Janet. I miss the color green!

  10. Su Leslie says:

    It looks idyllic Janet, but I guess in even the most beautiful places there are nasties like ticks and mosquitoes.

  11. joannesisco says:

    There’s nothing like time in nature to revive the soul! The story about ticks is really alarming though. It seems I’ve been incredibly lucky with all the hiking I’ve done.

    • Some years are worse than others and I guess I’ve been lucky, too. But after Lily’s experience and seeing the ticks on the dogs and on us, I’ll be a lot more careful here as well.

      janet

      • joannesisco says:

        We always check ourselves after a hike, but thankfully we’ve never found one. After reading this, I’m going to be just a bit more vigilant!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

