Thursday Doors…plumbing the doors of Plombières

Posted: July 28, 2016 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , , ,

Plombières les Bains’ claim to fame isn’t doors, it’s the thermal baths.  But there are an enormous number of attractive doors to be found.  So without further ado, let’s continue walking.

I’m not sure if this is a unique way of forestalling salesmen and unwanted visitors or if there’s another entrance, but I find the urban landscaping quite attractive.

98BCD905-1F6C-47D8-9A82-21B3AC22F605

A little ironwork is always eye-catching.

9CBF71C5-D700-4D5B-95B8-26FD1FE5EF75

Have to include one door with potential!

9D58A7F5-8B4B-4DA4-84B8-33CE168B1097

Much of Plombières is built on two ridges of hills that form the sides of the narrow valley in which the main part of the town is located.  That means lots of stairs and also that gardens tend to be small and sometime long rather than wide. This “door” opens to one of these little jewels.

7F0B999C-1328-42F9-8556-39EBFB963ACB

Comments
  1. Tish Farrell says:

    Lovely doors. I especially like the classic French door with the decorative iron bars, but the ‘door’ onto the garden is always the most alluring 🙂

  2. Lena says:

    I really like the old door with potential, the texture is so great!

  3. Sue says:

    Nice collection – like Tish, I am drawn to that garden ‘door’….

  4. Dan Antion says:

    This is a very nice collection. I love the old wooden door with the iron bars, and I really like the iron gated entrance. There’s something about stone and iron that really works.

  5. bikerchick57 says:

    The ironwork on the wood door is interesting. Reminds me a bit of barbed wire. My favorite, though, is the door to the garden. Who doesn’t love walking through a door and into a garden?

  6. Lovely all doors, and the introvert in me loves the idea of flowers blocking the way. 😀

  7. I would forget those plant pots were on my step and break my neck if it was my door. I love that last photo with the beautiful gates, so intriguing, wondering where those steps would bring me.

  8. Norm 2.0 says:

    Lovely selection of shots Janet. I love the first one, especially the way the potted plants have taken over this entrance – it is a great way to discourage unwanted visitors 🙂

  9. […] doors that bloggers are posting from all over the world.  I particularly love the ones from Sustainabilitea, Carpediemni and Jean Reinhardt.  They all caught my eye this week –  you should take a […]

  10. jan says:

    Love the garden door!

  11. jesh stg says:

    Since Europe is not as outwardly business oriented, the first doors might be for sheer decoration:) I quite like the second doors! And the stairs are so painterly!!

  12. I like the first set of doors but not the flowers blocking them. I’d love to know the reason for them. Maybe that was the fun-in-the-sun day for plants.
    Ω

  13. thirdeyemom says:

    Looks like your France trip was just lovely Janet! 🙂

  14. this is a great collection, Janet!

  15. What a great way to keep people away from the door! Flowers! I loved the second wood and iron door. The panel layout is so unique. I’ve never seen a panel door like it.

    The garden looks lovely. I want to go up the stairs and explore it more!

  16. Suvi says:

    A gateway to a garden always catches my eye! Gorgeous collection ❤

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

