When in France, eat.

Posted: July 29, 2016 in Food, Travel
Tags: , , , ,

One of the joys of being in France is eating, especially eating out, although my b-i-l is a master with the grill and my s-i-l an excellent cook.  When Plombières-les-Bains was recommended to us, my s-i-l looked online for restaurants, which thankfully led our steps and hungry stomachs, to the Brasserie Montaigne. Although there were tables outside, on this first trip (yes, we ate there again), we opted to eat inside, just barely making it before they stopped serving lunch.

3A6854BE-E454-42BD-9FF2-D43730B59E18

It was hot, so a beer sounded good, although their idea of a dark beer and mine were obviously not the same.  🙂  But it was refreshing.

135BB531-D129-4AEC-9144-581

We both chose a “small” salad, which was a delicious mix of warm and cold.  Lettuce on the bottom, tomatoes, cheese, half a hard-boiled egg, and croutons were cold or room temperature.  Potatoes, bacon, and dressing were warm and there was some cream on top (not sweet) that blended with the dressing.  The disc on top was cheese grated and then fried.  Delish!

B3A162BB-BDBB-43A7-AD31-D1854DACB80C

Even though the salad was filling, we decided to give dessert a try and were we glad we did!  You can see the size of the berry tart compared to the spoon behind it.  It was light (the tart that is, not the spoon) and, like the rest of the dessert, just barely sweet.  In the foreground on the left was homemade ice cream and above that, a scoop of whipped (real) cream, again very not sweet and just right (and light.)

55C9D20C-48E1-4609-A781-7CE5DC9941D1

Once we’d paid our bill (not on this beauty), we were refreshed and ready for more exploring and photos.

F240F40F-5A5C-463F-AA9A-C2A90E9DBC32

Today, I’m on my way to Wyoming for an unexpectedly early week in the mountains, the date change due to some issues at work.  I’ll be on the road today (10+ hours) and Saturday (8+ hours to Sheridan, WY, then shopping for food, and another hour or so up the mountain to the cabin.)  Needless to say, my internet presence will be almost nil and although there’s internet at the cabin, it’s slow and I’ll be busy riding, hiking, and relaxing.  Don’t worry.  I’ll also be taking lots of photos and they’ll eventually show up here. I don’t imagine I’ll be having any lunches like this and on the road, I’ll be eating as quickly to get to my destination as soon as possible.  But I can’t wait.  See you soon!  In the meantime, enjoy lunch!

Comments
  1. Hi! How are you? I saw your amazing blog its so awesome! That’s why I followed you 😀 Wow! I hope to read more of your post. I hope we could be friends also. 😀 Nice meeting you.

  2. Sending peaceful wishes for a relaxing time …. 😎

  3. Your lunch looked outstanding. 🙂 Now, I wish you safe travels and fun on your trip to Wyoming. I’ve spent a couple of vacation in Wyoming myself and enjoyed it immensely. 🙂

    • Except for two years, I’ve been there every summer since college…and that was quite some time ago. 🙂 I love the mountains and I love riding horses, so what’s not to love? I also enjoy driving through the country, so I’ve been having fun.

      janet

  4. What a lot of wonderful traveling you’re doing this summer! Enjoy Montana (I know you will).

  5. Norm 2.0 says:

    Looks like a delicious afternoon was had by all 😉
    Safe travels.

  6. Dan Antion says:

    The salad loks good, but the desert looks amazing. Enjoy your time at the cabin.

  7. Suvi says:

    Oh my, that berry tart! I have eaten so many cakes this summer but this photo makes me want to try this one immediately 😀

  8. Lindy Le Coq says:

    Have fun in the mountains, Janet. So good for us to get totally ‘away from it all’ including posting!

  9. bythebriny says:

    It all looks so amazing! Enjoy your mountain trip.

  10. jan says:

    Have fun! You’ve made me hungry but I doubt my din-din will be as fancy or good! Too hot.

  11. I hope that you enjoy your travels! 🙂

  12. […] When in France, eat!   You can get good meals in little local restaurants as well as in five-star establishments.  But my eyes, and stomach, are drawn to pâtisseries and boulangeries once the meal is over or when exploring towns.  The former specializes in pastries, cakes, and the like, while the latter sells various sorts of bread.  If you’re fortunate, you may find the two in one spot, a combination I love. […]

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

