Weekly Photo Challenge: Rare…Look! It’s a…?

Posted: August 19, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

One day in France, my s-i-l came in, told me to bring my phone and come with her.  She wouldn’t tell me what the surprise was.  A short distance after we entered the forest, she pointed and I saw immediately what she’d seen, a mushroom looking like a gigantic spider!

Having searched for some time before posting this, I believe this is a stinky squid mushroom.  They look to me like charred red peppers, although you wouldn’t want to eat one.  My s-i-l said they’re rare and, yes, stinky, although flies love them. Evidently something else loved them, as the next day it was gone.  We did, however, find a few others, rather startling in a world of mostly browns, greens, and whites.  This one was a good hand span in width.

08AD4F15-6981-446A-B456-2667E52A4ED8

 

Comments
  1. Sandra says:

    I’ll give that a miss, I think Janet. 😦 Great photo though.

  2. Wow, this is the first time that I have seen one of these. Thanks, Janet.
    Ω

  3. lisakunk says:

    That is one special specimen. Thanks for sharing. Can hardly wait to show my husband. He is a real “fun guy” and loves all things fungi.

  4. Paula says:

    Where does the stench come from? Is it that brown stuff on her “limbs”. I first thought of starfish with an extra arm. Extraordinary find, Janet. Beautifully presented 🙂

  5. wow, what a thing! I’ve never seen this before. Thanks for sharing, great photo!

  6. So did you smell all stinky after getting in close proximity J?

  7. Laura says:

    That’s amazing. It looks like something from another world 🙂

  8. Rare, indeed! It looks like something out of Star Trek! Great choice for the theme, Janet.

  9. It’s aptly named because it definitely looks like a miniature stinky squid.

  10. prior..2001 says:

    Bon jour – rare indeed – I have seen something sorta similar in yellow –
    but not this shape – just sections….

  11. Wow, what a find. Thanks for sharing with us

  12. […] This, that and the other thing Weekly Photo Challenge: Rare…Look! It’s a…? […]

  13. Wow! That’s really unusual and almost alien. Imagine if these giant Stinkhorns multiplied and started to take over the world. 😯

  14. jan says:

    I definitely wouldn’t eat one of those things!

  15. K.Z. says:

    Wow, awesome! I’ve never seen anything like it. 🙂

  16. A very wild looking mushroom indeed, Janet, and rare. Photograph is perfect for the challenge.
    Issy 😎

  17. purpleviolas says:

    O wow didn’t even know they existed. Rare indeed and probably poisonous too.

  18. pattisj says:

    That’s really wild!

  19. Awesome; my first thoughts when viewing your photo was an octopus was being grilled over charcoal. Never saw such a mushroom until now. Good shot! 🙂

  20. lexklein says:

    Oh. My!! This is a perfect thing to see as a photo, a perfect submission for this week. But not in person for me – eek – that freaks me out! Great photo.

    • Lexie, because it was in the earth and not something that jumped, despite its looks, I was just excited and astonished. 🙂 It does make a perfect submission for this theme, though.

      janet

  21. I’m sure live insects taste better than this spider:)

  22. Joyce says:

    Rather ugly, and certainly not appetizing, but very interesting to look at, photographed. 🙂 Bet the flies had a feast on it. Whatever else ate it I hope they didn’t get sick on it. 🙂

  23. Wow, that’s is indeed a rare and interesting looking mushroom. I just love all the variety that nature comes up with.

  24. badfish says:

    looks more like a starfish…or did you really make it out of paper mache?

  25. Joanne Sisco says:

    Certainly very interesting … almost beautiful.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

