Thursday Doors..Plombières les Bains gateways

Posted: August 25, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Door:  a. A movable structure used to close off an entrance, typically consisting of a panel that swings on hinges or that slides or rotates.

Gate: 1. A structure that can be swung, drawn, or lowered to block an entrance or a passageway.

Hmmm, these two definitions sound rather similar to me so with the authority of dictionaries behind me, I offer you these three gate-doors from Plombières les Bains.  Just think of a gate as an outside door with open windows.   These are not door-ky, but rather they a-door-n their space.  I heartily en-doors them.  🙂  Happy Thursday!

Garden door:

© janet m. webb 2016

Shrine door:

© janet m. webb 2016

Door to ancient Roman baths.  I would have loved to get in to see these early baths, but alas, the door was closed.

© janet m. webb 2016

Plombières is filled with photos of what the town looked like in earlier days, photos often taken from the same spot and looking completely recognizable.  Here’s a photo of the inside of the Roman baths “back in the day”, although post-ancient-Romans.

© janet m. webb 2016

 

 

Comments
  1. i completely agree. a gate is a specialized door. a doorway closed or opened is still a door to. . . .the other side. so in my definition, even a doorway without a door is still a door—to the other side.

    way fun doors.

  2. I do love gates, and you captured some lovely ones, Janet. 🙂

    • Good morning from humid and cloudy Chicagoland, Judy. There were so many beautiful gates and doors in this small town that our progress was quite slow. But the views were worth taking the time to see, whether or not gates/doors were included.

      janet

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I love iron gates, Janet. There’s just something so interesting about the form over function aspects to them. Great photos.

  4. joey says:

    I’ve been gathering gates. I love gates. Great gates 🙂

  5. joannesisco says:

    In my world, gates are doors … and I’m still grinning at your un-door-ky post 🙂

  6. I’m doing Mexico pics todayIt’s fun to see Our summer vacations here. Love the gate.

  7. jesh stg says:

    These gates certainly serve as doors:) They’re beautiful too. I would have liked to see the Roman baths too:)

  8. It would have been great if you could have found a photo of the baths from Roman times! 🙂 These are all great “doors”.

    • I thought that would have been cool, too, Emilio, but those pesky Romans have hidden their photos away too well for modern people to find. Glad you liked the more modern photos, though. They were the best I could do.

      janet

  9. Steve says:

    Great pictures, the first one is my favorite. Glad to someone else go the route of gates.

  10. Norm 2.0 says:

    Gates, doors…as long as there are pretty pictures it’s all good. Plus I hear that the guy who runs this thing is pretty loose with the rules 😉
    Great shots

  11. marianallen says:

    Gates definitely count! I hope you can tour the Roman baths one day.

  12. Well done, your submissions are all so interesting and engaging.

  13. Gates work for me as doors too. These are all lovely, but number 2 is my favorite. I loved your humorous narrative today! 🙂

  14. Pistachios says:

    Loving the play on words, and all these ornate gates!
    I’m really starting to see that there’s a lot more to Thursday Doors than doors attached to a building/home. I suppose even a detached door (resting against a wall or on the ground) would still count too. So many possibilities…

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

