Weekly Photo Challenge: Frame…Memorex memories

Posted: August 26, 2016 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

This week’s Photo Challenge theme is “Frame.”  (Have to say that the song “Fame” is now stuck in my head.)  I’m going outside the box (another frame?) a bit  (but the bars are framing it) to share a photo that brought a huge smile to my face as well as a lot of memories when I spotted it in a window in Plombières-les-Bains, France in July.  Took me back to my college days, when my best friend, Al, made me cassette after cassette of favorite songs, probably on Memorex.  “Smoke on the Water”, anyone?

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. I like it. Stereo frames!
    Ω

  2. Sandra says:

    I remember Smoke on the Water… happy times. Lovely shot.

  3. Paula says:

    I should google that tune 🙂

  4. Paula says:

    Oh, I know it. Silly me 😀

  5. prior.. says:

    love the strong frame lines and thick letters – and flashback too!
    we walked into a cvs (son had to get a photo) and in a cart they had cassette tape adapters for cars – I had a puzzled look because I forgot some cars still have cassette players – and your friend al’s custom cassettes sound like treasures !

  6. prior.. says:

    oh and memorex was a good brand – but soooooooo glad to have digital and not have tapes that get eaten

  7. sonyavdg says:

    Love the textures

  8. bythebriny says:

    Which “Fame” song: David Bowie or Irene Cara? 🙂

  9. Thank you for the trip down memory lane … mixed tapes!!!! Wow.

  10. Lindy Le Coq says:

    Love it! Now FAME is playing on my mental cassette!

  11. Dan Antion says:

    Nicely done. Now I have two songs fighting for the limited space in my head. Doot doot doo, doot doot dodoooo….

  12. Tina Schell says:

    LOL Janet. A good friend was packing for his move last week and told me his son took possession of about 200 cassettes that had been in storage for many years. Where do you suppose he’ll find a player ?!?!?

    • Just found your comment in my spam folder, the second real comment there in as many days. Wonder what’s up. I imagine you can find a cassette player at a secondhand store…or maybe an antique store! 🙂

      janet

  13. Jane Lurie says:

    Aah, hated to part with my boxes of cassettes. Great memories, Janet. Thank you.

  14. Ok, so I guess it will be “Smoke on the Water” in my head all day 🙂 It could be worse, it could be “Fame” 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

