Open or closed?

Posted: August 30, 2016 in Miscellaneous, Personal
Tags: , , ,
© janet m. webb 2016

Open and closed in Colmar

Do you like the windows open or closed?  I love to have them open.  If the mornings are cool in all seasons except winter, I open everything to air out the house, bringing in not only fresh air but the sounds of nature.  I’ve learned the hard way that if it will be hot, I have to close everything up before the day heats up or I lose the advantage of the coolness.  But oh, how I hate to have to do it! When visiting my s-i-l in France, I’ve learned to use the shutters to keep the sun away while still leaving the windows open if possible.

On the other hand, my husband, working now from home almost all the time, would never open anything unless it were a door to exit or enter.  If I’m gone and he’s at home, the house always smells stale when I arrive home and I hope for weather suitable for window-opening.  I prefer natural coolness, although I certainly appreciate air-conditioning in the hot, humid Midwest.

How about you?  Are you a window-open or window-closed person?

 

Comments
  1. thegirlthatdreamsawake says:

    Open most definately! Love big windows that let lots of light in!

    • Yes to big windows! The house we bought in Cleveland had enormous windows and we fell in love with the house initially because of all the openness and light. Because of the configuration, we got tremendous airflow when they were open and didn’t have to use the AC all that much.

      janet

  2. Sue says:

    I’m a windows open person! Even in the heat of the day I will have the windows open but the curtains will be closed which maintains a degree of coolness!

    • If it gets too hot, we have the AC on because my husband not only gets hot but his office is on the second floor. So the windows have to be closed. But I wait as long as possible and then open them again as soon as possible. :-0

      janet

  3. Sherry Felix says:

    I like windows open. Unfortunately, there is a cigar bar below us and I have to live with shut widows so I don’t choke on cigar smoke.

  4. Open unless it is blowing a gale …

  5. Ruth says:

    I’m definitely an open windows person! 🙂

  6. open of course…. it’s common here to talk with the neighbors when they pass by :o)

    • That’s nice. Our front windows have lilac bushes in front of them, bushes that are going to need to be cut back at the end of the season, but keep us from seeing anyone, let alone talking to them. Around here, people aren’t that close to the sidewalks to talk from the windows to others, a shame in a way.

      janet

      • it’s funny somehow… I learnt this way once that my potatoes are burnt LOL. hope this kind of “we are neighbors and like family” will stay even when the time changed so much things…

      • One of the things I like about houses with porches is that people tend to sit on them and then see and talk with others. So many places now don’t have porches and are far from the sidewalks, not like many homes in France that are practically in the road! 🙂

  7. I really enjoy open windows except when there is humidity. Then I close it up and run the AC. If the weather is going back and forth, I just leave the AC on so it doesn’t have to catch up. 🙂

    • I do the exact same thing, Judy. I hate to tell you, but our windows are closed this morning because we’re getting huge rains and thunderstorms. 😦 Still trying to get them to come your direction, but I guess I’m not too good at that!

      janet

  8. Nice commentary and poser to go with the interesting pic, Janet.

    I am an opener along with opening the window shades immediately upon getting up.
    Let there be light and air and sounds and freshness and breezes and stretches and deep inhaling.

    Seize the day!
    Randy

    • We all seem to be openers, Randy, although with the thunderstorms and rain this morning, ours are firmly closed! I shall seize the day anyway. Looking forward to the slightly cooler temperatures starting tomorrow (at least for a few days) to facilitate opening.

      janet

  9. Joanne Sisco says:

    Open, definitely open …. like right now with the cool morning air coming in 🙂

  10. Emissary says:

    Definitely windows OPEN!! I hardly ever get to do it though 😐. To many bugs and no screens.

    • Where do you live? My s-i-l lives in France and they don’t have screens, either, but they do have some things that can be put into electrical sockets and somehow seem to keep most of the bugs out. I never did understand not having screens, though. 🙂

      janet

  11. brainsnorts says:

    open windows represent open minds. sometimes.

  12. bythebriny says:

    Open! to a point. My husband is a windows open person but takes it to such an extreme that I have to put on socks and sweaters while he’s completely comfortable in a t-shirt and shorts.

  13. Love the windows open, even in the winter at night I sleep with the windows open.

  14. Nice photo, good topic. I’m with you—I like open windows. There is something about natural light that soothes me. Maybe it is a reaction to bringing artificial light to others for so many years.
    Ω

  15. Lindy Le Coq says:

    Open in the morning, close around noon in the summer. Although, if there’s something in the air that exacerbates my or my husband’s allergies, the windows and doors stay closed. Love to have the window cracked in the bedroom, to let in cool night air and the morning stirring of birds.

  16. I’m definitely a window opener. I love to listen to the bird life around my house. Not to mention having fresh air.

  17. Beautiful windows, Janet. In South Africa, we couldn’t leave windows open because of the monkeys getting in. Here in Florida, it would be the iguanas. In both places, we need air conditioning, so it makes sense to keep the windows closed.

    • I understand, Sylvia. My parents live in the Phoenix area and during the summer, the windows are closed and the air on. However, if and when it cools down at night, Mom opens everything up in the morning and evening and it’s lovely.

      janet

  18. We open them as we move into fall and again in the spring, as long as they aren’t tormenting one of my children’s allergies. 🙂

  19. Leya says:

    Open! Doors as well. Our dog walks in and out as he pleases. I have to have air and light in my life – or I could not function properly.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

