Colorful

Posted: September 3, 2016 in Nature
Tags: , ,

It’s been a busy week, so I’m simply going to share a photo I took on my walk yesterday morning.  It was a therapeutic walk, as I needed to be outside and unhurried.  Covered from head to foot to avoid any ticks, I took one of the unimproved paths, more like an animal track.  With all the rain, everything is overgrown and I lost the track for a time.  Soaked above the knees from bushwhacking through high wet grass and other plants, a nice little crop of burrs stuck to pants and socks, I finally found it again.  Although there’s a lot of yellow amongst the green, these bright beauties add their own bit of color.

© janet m. webb

Comments
  1. I love this plant – I first saw it in Portugal and although I have o idea what it is I want one!

  2. macmsue says:

    I don’t know the plant but am very taken with its lovely rich colours.

  3. I think that plant might be pokeweed. It is stunning but poisonous. I just read a post where it was used as a flower for a dining room table in an extremely tall slender vase. it was stunning. 🙂

    • You’re right, Judy, and thanks. Evidently lots of birds and animals eat it, but humans should stay away. Even touching it can be problematic for humans according to what I read. But it’s certainly beautiful.

      janet

  4. thirdeyemom says:

    Beautiful Janet! It had been the wettest August I can remember and our mosquitos are insane! At least it is very green though.

  5. Love the perspective of the poke berries! Although it’s toxic in some ways, the leaves are edible if prepared like mustard greens during early spring growth. It needs to be cooked with a flush or two of water. We have old-timers here that swear one ripe berry a day keeps their arthritis away, though I’ve never used it in that way. The roots are a very powerful lymphatic and can be dangerous so I would be very cautious about using it that way. I’m sure some people might have reactions from just touching it, but I’ve never had any bad encounters with it and it’s all over. The berries make a good stain for ink substitute if you find your writing quills are dry one day 😉

  6. GeorgieMoon says:

    Lovely! Such a vibrant colour.

  7. Purple goes with everything. Except ticks. Forget them.

    A beautiful photo, Janet.
    Ω

  8. Dan Antion says:

    Thanks to Judy for remembering. I’ve seen that here, and my wife has told me not to touch it, even though the birds do eat it. I guess I wouldn’t last long in the wilderness. Anyway, very pretty picture.

  9. viveka says:

    LoOooOoOove purple, lovely close up!

  10. bythebriny says:

    Nature’s colour combinations sometimes amaze me.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

