Dessert

Posted: September 14, 2016 in Food
Tags: , , , ,

When in France, eat!   You can get good meals in little local restaurants as well as in five-star establishments.  But my eyes, and stomach, are drawn to pâtisseries and boulangeries once the meal is over or when exploring towns.  The former specializes in pastries, cakes, and the like, while the latter sells various sorts of bread.  If you’re fortunate, you may find the two in one spot, a combination I love.

We found one such combination while in Luxeuil.  After taking in all the history we could get, we were ready for refreshment and people-watching, so we stopped for a coffee (cappuccino for me).  Afterwards, I ducked into a shop to pick up these tasty raspberry tarts for dessert after our dinner at home.  Not too sweet, in the style of most European pastries, they came in a wonderful box that was elegant, but with a riff of the 60’s, at least to me.  And the taste (of the tarts, not the box)?  Divine!

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. Oh, they absolutely look delicious. And the box is so cute, very French I should say.

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Those do look really yummy!

  3. I think I need to get some raspberries out of the freezer because I am now starving. 🙂 The Europeans make desserts first and coffee second. We make our coffee first and then prepackage our dessert. I like their focus better. 🙂

  4. Norm 2.0 says:

    Mmmm those do look good 🙂

  5. Laura says:

    Definitely Divine. I like the box too.

  6. Lena says:

    It looks soooo tasty, and the box is really lovely!

  7. Mmmm, raspberries. I’m with the rest of your readers: the pastries look divine and the box is a definite eye-catcher. Did you tear off the top and save it?
    Ω

  8. Now you’re speaking my language. If there’s one thing that the French know, it’d pastries! These little raspberry tarts are the essence of simplicity and perfection made edible.

  9. happyface313 says:

    🙂 Yum, yum, yum!
    These raspberry tarts look mouthwatering (ly?) delicious!
    Have a wonderful day, dear Janet 🙂

  10. jan says:

    Not too sweet – yum! That’s how I like my tarts.

  11. Pretty enough to be fine art as well as fine eating!

  12. BoomingOn says:

    A raspberry tart a day is a necessity when we are travelling in France.

  13. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I’d be happy with one of those and happier still with two!

  14. […] After admiring the view a bit longer and patting ourselves metaphorically on our backs, we made our way carefully down the steps, worn in the middle from many feet over many years.  Time for door photos, coffee/cappuccino, and finding raspberry tarts. […]

  15. Those look divine!! 🙂

  16. Bernadine says:

    This looks so good! I love how you pay homage to French cuisine. Please follow my blog at https://baking781.wordpress.com/. Thanks again!!😀

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

