Upward through history

Posted: September 20, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

We’d seen Luxeuil Abbey, sarcophagi, bas relief sculptures, and local art.  But the museum steps wound ever upward and we had to climb them, much as in a fairy tale.  A look through the panes showed us a view of the old part of the city.

© janet m. webb 2016

Ever onward and upward.  Older people would never be able to climb this steep, narrow stairway.

© janet m. webb 2016

We emerged at the top of a very high tower to stand on a very narrow area surrounded by a not very tall parapet.  I don’t have a great head for heights, but I managed to move away from the back wall to admire (and photograph) the amazing view from all sides of the turret.

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

After admiring the view a bit longer and patting ourselves metaphorically on our backs, we made our way carefully down the steps, worn in the middle from many feet over many years.  Time for door photos, coffee/cappuccino, and finding raspberry tarts.

© janet m. webb 2016

 

 

Comments
  1. Lena says:

    Very nice veiws over the rooftops Janet! I guess those stairs have seen a lot through the years.

  2. Quite a different view and perspective: very nice!

  3. Su Leslie says:

    Gorgeous views; and probably worth the height and the narrow, winding stairs … and … I’m not good with heights either.

    • It was worth it, Su, but it did take courage for me to step away from the inside wall. 🙂

      janet

      • Su Leslie says:

        I know that feeling. My brother and I climbed to the Whispering Gallery in St Pauls, London. It took me a couple of minutes to stop hugging the outer wall. The view was magnificent, and the acoustics amazing. But neither of us was that keen to climb to the outdoor galleries above 🙂

  4. Bulgarian in London says:

    It looks absolutely stunning! Great photos!

  5. Love your photos. Wish I was there but no stair climbing for me!! When you mentioned Tarts this Old Nursery Rhyme came to mind. Thank you for the beautiful photos and sweet childhood memories.

    The Queen of Hearts, she made some tarts,
    All on a summer’s day;
    The knave of Hearts, he stole the tarts,
    And took them clean away.

    The King of Hearts
    Called for the tarts,
    And beat the Knave full sore;
    The Knave of Hearts
    Brought back the tarts,
    And vowed he’d steal no more.

  6. Dan Antion says:

    Beautiful photos Janet. Those stairs are narrow. It’s so hard to get a good picture of stairs like that – nice job!

  7. Norm 2.0 says:

    Awesome views. I’m not sure I could’ve managed the stairs but I’m glad you did 🙂

  8. Beautiful views, Janet. Did you ponder the size of the people who built the structure? Must’ve been tough little dudes.
    Ω

  9. Thank you for taking me along on your journey. Your photographs are a visual delight, Janet. Great post …
    Izzy 😎

  10. Great views, worth the effort of the stairs

  11. Thanks, as always, not only for the great pics, but for taking me there,
    Love traveling and views.
    Randy

  12. bythebriny says:

    I love those old, winding stairs and the views over the rooftops.

  13. Claire @ bletheringbylinley says:

    Amazing view – I love a good turret! Great job climbing all the way – I reckon I’d have made it half way before lying down and yelling for someone to come and shoot me.

  14. I imagine that little landing on the stairs is a later addition. Gosh, my heart would have been in my throat and my legs trembling by time I got to the top! But the view is worth it. 🙂

  15. Old buildings and architecture always lures me in. The way the materials age. The angles and shapes that are so functional, yet as fine as art in museums. Old windows looking out on old scenes can almost transport in time.
    Great images

  16. Joanne Sisco says:

    Those stairs to the top are quite the adventure! Great photos capturing exactly how small and narrow they are!!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

