Thursday Doors…elaborate doors

Posted: September 29, 2016 in Thursday doors
Tags: , ,

These pieces of furniture from the Chicago Institute of Art are anything but merely functional.  You may not be able to hang them on the wall, but they’re art none the less. The first one could be the centerpiece of your living room or dining room; the second is just right for your family chapel.  (What?  You don’t have a family chapel?)  The amazing details make them perfect for this week’s version of Thursday Doors.  Dan and Norm, I know you want one (or both) of these!

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

 

Comments
  1. Su Leslie says:

    These are both beautiful pieces of furniture; I especially like the second. I don’t have a family chapel, but I did live in a house in England that had an early 18th century church in the front yard! It is still used for services even today.

    • So many of the furniture pieces are massive, so they’d be difficult to put in a house these days. But they were so beautiful. What fun to have had a church in your yard! Only in England.

      janet

      • Su Leslie says:

        I know what you mean. I adore the furniture sections of museums, partly because the scale is so out of kilter with modern domestic living. And yes, the church was lovely — and seriously impressed our overseas visitors!

  2. Superb details …. a classic piece of furniture. 😎

  3. joey says:

    I’ll pass on the at home religious piece, but wow on that detailed buffet-type piece! Really lovely additions today, thanks for sharing! 🙂

  4. HonieBriggs says:

    They don’t make ’em like that anymore! It is a shame that kind of fine craftsmanship does not exist in the mass produced furnishings of our “advanced” society. Beauty, quality, and practically – what a treasure!

    • To find fine craftsmanship these days, you have to really search and then pay a fortune. Our house in Cleveland was built in the early 30’s and had all those special touches that you don’t find in most houses these days, unless specially ordered.

      janet

  5. I love that Sideboard! The detail, and workmanship look superb.

  6. Norm 2.0 says:

    Two gorgeous finds. That second one looks painted but I’m drooling over that first one for all of the inlay work.
    Both were done by absolute masters in their craft – no question that this is fine art.

  7. Wow! What amazing pieces of furniture. I love that first one, the colours are so beautiful. They are definitely works of art, Janet.

  8. Thanks, Janet. These are gorgeous examples of artistry with wood.
    Ω

    • It’s amazing to me that anyone can even conceive of such a piece let alone create it.

      • Even more impressive is the fact that it was accomplished without the benefit of the tools we have today. Thirty years ago when I was still working as a commercial electrician—before the bridge—my tool buddy and I had to work in the office of the head guy of a huge Venture Capital fund. We had to move a large bookshelf/credenza unit that was built in the 1400s by his great-great-great-whatever grandfather in Holland. I was overwhelmed when I put my hands on the wood surface. The chain of ownership, the history of the piece and the hands-on craftsmanship that I could feel was a link through time and space for me. Thankfully, I was a lot more successful moving that piece than I was last spring with the bed unit at my house.
        Ω

      • Not everything old was well-made, but the many things that are do have a feel to them, a feel of both craftsmanship and history, a feel that they’ll be around for a long time. I love that.

  9. jan says:

    These are lovely but I’m afraid I don’t have a personal chapel!

  10. Dan Antion says:

    Maybe not all that functional, but they sure are beautiful and masterfully crafted. Those are works of art first, furniture second. Beautiful photos, Janet.

  11. Leya says:

    Wow – I wish I had a family chapel.

  12. Joanne Sisco says:

    They certainly don’t make furniture like they used to 😉

  13. MickETalbot says:

    Wow how elaborate do doors get? You’ve certainly don them justice with you photographic skills.

  14. jesh stg says:

    Exquisite! The first two look like in-layed wood (or whatever you call it)

  15. You’re right! Great art work with doors (doors imitating artistic furnishings?).

  16. Elaborate is an understatement. 🙂

  17. These are stunning masterpieces, Janet. I really fancy the first one. 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

