Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgia…Make mine a 45.

Posted: September 30, 2016 in Personal, Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I have many happy, nostalgic memories, most involving family, travel, reading, horses, or all of the above.  But driving home from work, contemplating today’s challenge, I thought of my box of children’s 45 rpm records.  My mom kept these and I plan to have them put on CD’s.  We spent many hours listening to the stories and music on these various records, many of which I still recall and can sing or recite.  The white tags on the sleeves are where my mom numbered them before putting them in the box, 47 in total, ending with an adapted version of “Midsummer Night’s Dream” by Mendelssohn and, of course, Shakespeare.

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. I didn’t have any children’s books on 45 rpm records but I sure had a lot of rock on roll on them. I also remember the little disc that fit in the middle to allow it to work on the phonograph. I’m showing my age using that work because everyone today knows it is a turntable for vinyl. 🙂

  2. viveka says:

    Lovely, Janet …. I think music … is the biggest “bring back” for most of all.

  3. Dan Antion says:

    We had the Wee Sing series of cassette tapes for our daughter. I can still recite many of them, and we still quote some of the lines in family conversations.

  4. Ah 45’s! I think my Mom may still have some of mine, and an LP or two as well. I used to walk to the music store every week-end after I got my allowance and select a dozen or so 45’s then take them into the little play/soundproof room to listen to them to figure out which one or two I would spend my hard earned allowance on. 🙂 They don’t have rooms like that anymore at the music store, but there is one at the music store where I purchase sheet music, and it has a piano in there to play the music to see if its the piece you’d like to purchase. I never felt good enough to use that room, but love the thought of it, and seeing others in there use it.

    We bought our kids cassette tapes with stories and music, and they each had their own sony walkman to play them on.

  5. ecopoet says:

    ,music always sparks my memory bank, The “old hifi” is where you would find my Dad & Me …

  6. Lena says:

    Those sweet 45 memories. Lovely approach to this weeks challenge.

  7. happyface313 says:

    🙂 Hi Janet,
    great entry! This somehow reminds me of my cousin’s closet full of vintage Barbie dolls.
    Have a great weekend 🙂

  8. msgt3227 says:

    I blame you Janet…I couldn’t help myself… I dug out my 45 record file box I got as a pre-teen… it still has my first 31 records, and my #1 & #2 are Dick Hyman, “The Minotaur” (one of the first MOOG musicians), and the other is Sugarloaf’s, “Green-Eyed Lady”…. I am now hooking up the turn table and plan to have an exciting Friday night listening to all my old records!!

  9. bythebriny says:

    So awesome that you have these.

  10. My parents had bought me a red & white children’s record player and I remember playing the Alice in Wonderland record until probably the grooves ran out!! I Loved the Alice in Wonderland story as much now as I did back then. Unfortunately during my moves all those wonderful records 45s/33 1/3s got thrown out, discarded or misplaced. However I do have many fond memories and can still hear the music in my head.

  11. Oh wow – now I HAVE to go search for my old 45’s.

  12. lifelessons says:

    Love this photo. I still have all of my old 45/s. And all of my LP’s. Wish I’d kept the ones my folks had.

  13. […] This, that and the other thing Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgia…Make mine a 45. […]

  14. I still have the furst one I bought with my own money: tom sawyer&huckleberry finn :o)

  15. Sherry Felix says:

    I had a record of The Little tune That Ran Away. It was Rockabye Baby sung by barnyard animals, cowboys, a dog and more. Used to drive my mother nuts with it playing it over and over.

  16. Awww … those are great memories for nostalgia, Janet. It was so nice of your mom to save them.
    I’m sure it was a pleasant trip down memory lane. Perfect selection for the challenge.
    Have a wonderful weekend.
    Izzy 😎

  17. Oh boy! These are wonderful memories. I remember listening to audio children’s’ books growing up 🙂
    I would like to invite you to my blog party taking place right now. A great way to meet and mingle with other bloggers.

  18. There has to be at least one “Alvin and the Chipmunks” record in there, Janet. Yes or No?
    Ω

  19. Anita says:

    Your records remind me of the cassette tapes we had. Stuff in there got moved to CDs, and now those CDs are well on their way to becoming nostalgic items themselves in a few years…

  20. thirdeyemom says:

    Oh so wonderful Janet!

  21. Delightful memories these must stir, Janet. Lovely entry!

  22. Wow, I can’t believe you still have these. Perfect for the challenge too.

  23. My mother had a box of 45’s. They were of music from her teen years. I loved listening to them. She still has them in their cardboard psychedelic 45 holder box. 🙂 Love this nostalgia.

  24. […] via Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgia…Make mine a 45. — This, that and the other thing […]

  25. Wow! I remember these records!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

