Filling every pore and cell

Posted: October 2, 2016 in Personal, Quotes
Tags: , , , , , , ,

We are now in the mountains and they are in us, kindling enthusiasm, making every nerve quiver, filling every pore and cell of us.
~John Muir, My First Summer in the Sierra

I’m by nature and nurture an optimist, despite much evidence to the contrary, an optimist who loves to travel to all sorts of places: lake, ocean, desert.  But when I’m in the mountains, it’s as if I were a jigsaw puzzle missing one small piece; a picture complete as is, but reaching its full beauty when that one piece is in place.

I don’t go to France for mountains.  My s-i-l and b-i-l live in the ancient forest of the Vosges, hilly and peaceful (except during hunting season.)  On this trip, however, during one of our patented driving trips of exploration, we ended in the Haute (High) Vosges.  The road twisted, turned, and climbed and with each turn, my spirits rose and my heart and soul filled.

If you’ve visited Germany’s Black Forest, you know the Haute Vosges.

There is great similarity between the Vosges and the corresponding range of the Black Forest on the other side of the Rhine: both lie within the same degrees of latitude, have similar geological formations and are characterized by forests on their lower slopes, above which are open pastures and rounded summits of a rather uniform altitude; furthermore, both exhibit steeper slopes towards the Rhine and a more gradual descent on the other side.
~Wikipedia

Here are some of the views above the village of Kruth that kindled my enthusiasm, made my nerves quiver, and filled every pore and cell.

© janet m. webb 2016

Enormous woodpiles for winter heat are everywhere. These are some of the smaller stacks we saw.

Climb the mountains and get their good tidings. Nature’s peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees. The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop away from you like the leaves of Autumn.”
~John Muir, The Mountains of California

© janet m. webb 2016

Thousands of tired, nerve-shaken, over-civilized people are beginning to find out that going to the mountains is going home; that wildness is a necessity.
~John Muir, Our National Parks

© janet m. webb 2016

I am losing precious days. I am degenerating into a machine for making money. I am learning nothing in this trivial world of men. I must break away and get out into the mountains to learn the news.
~John Muir

© janet m. webb 20016

 

Comments
  1. Lena says:

    This sure is beautiful Janet, the veiws are stunning!

  2. ledrakenoir says:

    Agree Black Forest in Germany and Vosges in France have a ‘connection’ in many ways and river Rhine makes a beautiful ‘boundary’ between them – I live right between Vosges and river Rhine, with only an hour drive from the heart of Black Forest – amazing area… 🙂

  3. Tish Farrell says:

    Aaah! These photos made me stop and take deep of pine-fresh leafy air. Lovely.

  4. Leya says:

    Ah, mountains are refreshing to body and soul – lovely shots making me remember!

  5. modestly says:

    Stunning – a lovely way to renew the spirit.

  6. Dan Antion says:

    Such beautiful photos, and thoughts, Janet. It’s lovely country. It’s hard to imagine living somewhere that looks that peaceful.

    • I imagine the winters can be hard, Dan, but I lived in Steamboat Springs for several years right after college and it was beautiful even in winter. Each place has pros and cons, but there are always places for each person where some of what others see as cons, aren’t to that person. That’s where you should live or at least vacation.

      janet

      • Dan Antion says:

        That’s a very good point, Janet. We love the four seasons. We complain about long hot spells and we complain about long cold spells, but we wouldn’t want to move to a 3-season kind of state.

  7. Beautiful countryside, Janet. I can see why you like your visits to France.
    Ω

    • This was a new area for us and one I’d love to explore more on my next trip. Where my s-i-l lives is forests and farmland with lots of very big hills. But these mountains aren’t too far away. Very different from Provence where they used to live.

      • I saw a comment of yours that you lived in Steamboat Springs for awhile. I worked at the Powerhouse in Craig on & off for a few years in the late ’70s and further down the road at the ColoWyo mine in Axial for a few months. Beautiful country & coooold winters.
        Ω

      • I was in Steamboat in the mid-seventies for two years and we had lots of men from the power plant that skied at Steamboat during the winter. Definitely gorgeous country and yes, cold winters. 🙂

      • I didn’t ski Steamboat, but I did go horseback riding after work one long summer night. I’m glad that the horse knew where he was going and how to get back home. Fun times.
        Ω

  8. nowathome says:

    The mountains also bring me joy!! Love it!

  9. MissKymmiee says:

    Wow this is amazing… Keep up ❤️️ http://www.misskymmiee.com

  10. Gorgeous, Janet, but you had me at John Muir 🙂

  11. My wife lived in Germany for a few years. I’ll have to ask if she’s ever been here. Sure looks and sounds like we would love it!

  12. I always find my center and happy place when in the mountains. Those views are stunning! It must have been amazing being there.

  13. Tina Schell says:

    Wonderful post Janet – what a truly beautiful and peaceful looking place!

  14. Nato says:

    Looks like a wonderful place. Thank you for sharing it:)

  15. Joanne Sisco says:

    Beautiful photos, Janet. I know that feeling you were trying to describe. I especially like the 3rd photo showing the twisting road as it climbs the hillside.

  16. Zee says:

    What a marvellous place ! Such calmness and serenity !

  17. Beautiful. Somehow mountains bring everything back into balance for me. For some the sea does that. It would be great if we could all live where we feel we fit – and still earn enough to live and work only enough as necessary leaving time for other things

  18. jesh stg says:

    Good to see these familiar sites. It has been a long time I was there. Like John Muir’s opinion that wilderness is a necessity:)

  19. eliwoodbine says:

    What a lovely thought.

    Thanks for sharing,

    Eli

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

