Thursday Doors…Philadelphia classics

Posted: October 6, 2016 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , , ,

I’m not talking about the Philly cheese steak here, but some classic doors.  Not much time for door photography this trip, but I did catch a few while downtown, between cappuccino and shopping.  Once you start Thursday Doors, you won’t be able to stop.

These doors may not be special but their surroundings certainly are.

© janet m. webb 2016

I love this Art Deco building where I go to meet fellow blogging friends and I love these elevator doors.

© janet m. webb 2016

Another set of doors from the same building. Hard to beat stained glass.

© janet m. webb 2016

Residential door:

© janet m. webb 2016

Now about that cheese steak…

Comments
  1. Lena says:

    That elevator is really something, great doors.

    • Thanks, Lena. The entire first floor of the building (all I’ve ever seen), is beautiful. There’s a Starbucks there, which is where I sometimes meet fellow bloggers when we can get together during my visits, so I’ve seen this quite often. I always enjoy it.

      janet

  2. Wow, those elevators doors are stunning. The art deco work above the first door is really neat. Very unique finds!

    • The Art Deco building has been preserved beautifully, Deborah. One day I’ll have to venture to some of the other floors and see what they look like. But this first floor is awesome.

      janet

  3. That is a black DOOR with wreath to match. Massive and handsome. 🙂

  4. Dan Antion says:

    I also really like Art Deco styled buildings, entryways and doors. You found some great ones, Janet. However, if you’re going to mention cheese steak sandwiches, you really should include an order form for rapid-delivery take-out.

  5. dimlamp says:

    I like the art-deco above the first door.

  6. That was some overwhelming collection. Nice. Thanks, Randy

  7. Love that first door, Janet. Unique architectural touch.

  8. Norm 2.0 says:

    I saw a lot of art-deco in NYC last month too. We don’t have much of it left here which is too bad because I’m discovering that I really like this style. I just love those elevator doors 🙂

  9. happyface313 says:

    🙂 stunningly beautiful!
    Thanks for showing us these beautiful doors, dear Janet!
    Have a very HAPPY evening 🙂

  10. Su Leslie says:

    Love, love, love Art Deco. I did have a moment of total confusion looking at the first photo. I read the “1622” above the first door as a construction date (as it would probably be in NZ) before realising it was probably the street address. Audible forehead slap!

    • 🙂 Glad you recovered, Su, and glad you enjoyed the shots. When we were in Basel, Switzerland as few years ago, the numbers above the houses were more like 1276 or whatever and they were dates!

      janet

  11. Very classy doors, Janet. Amazing elevator doors – glad I don’t have to polish them, though.

  12. prior.. says:

    ok janet – needing some cheesesteak now – 🙂 but beautiful doors – with stained glass – will suffice!

  13. Joanne Sisco says:

    I love that last residential door. Were those fresh flowers?

  14. I love that elevator! Beautiful finds. -Amy

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

