The Windy City

Posted: October 30, 2016 in Personal
Tags: , , ,

There’s some disagreement about why Chicago is called “The Windy City.”  One side says the name comes from the hot air of its politicians; the other that the winds which seem to come down every street in all directions at the same time are the cause of the title.  I say going with both is a safe bet.

Early Friday morning, our older daughter, her boyfriend, and I were at the Naperville train station to catch the Metra into the city.  Leave by any train up to and including the 8:25 am and it will only take about 30 minutes to arrive at Union Station.  Wait ten more minutes and the journey jumps to an hour and twenty minutes!  No prizes guessing which we took.

After a coffee stop for them, we walked down to Michigan Avenue, introducing her boyfriend to The Bean.  Follow my signature and you’ll find me at the end of it, taking the shot.

© janet m. webb 2016

Nearby are sculptures by Chakaia Booker, made of discarded tires, artistic recycling at its best.  This one makes me think of a dragon.

© janet m. webb 2016

The weather was unusually warm for the end of October, but that pesky wind as well as being in the shade, took us from warmth to chill quite quickly, then back again to warm.  We walked north on Michigan Avenue, alternating between window gazing and looking at the combination of classic old and shiny new buildings. Finally we reached the point where the Chicago River runs under Michigan Avenue.  Cross the river and you’re on the Magnificent Mile, filled with expensive, high-end stores.  We’re looking towards Lake Michigan and that boat is like the one we’ll take later for an architectural tour on the river.

© janet m. webb 2016

Not everything is serious and this is just right for Halloween. Gives “rolling your eyes” a whole new meaning.

© janet m. webb 2016

When we reached the top of the Mile, we went briefly into the Macy’s building where I caught this bit of water and light and where Evan bought his sister a Cubs cap.  As our house is for the Cleveland Indians, I’ll say no more.  But there will be more posts about our trip.

© janet m. webb 2016

 

Comments
  1. Enjoyed the virtual ramble taking in the bean and art works also appreciate the comments on political effects on meteorology. Have a similar climate here in the Cape; our SEasterly winds blast all in their path. And especially when parliament sits😬

  2. Leya says:

    Wow – I really loved this walk, Janet! And adoooored that recycled dragon. Artwork really lifts the spirits – almost every time.

  3. I have been to Chicago several times, but it has been many years since my last visit so thank you for the refresher tour. 🙂

    • My pleasure, Judy. Stay tuned for some of the highlights of the architecture river tour, too. It was quite enjoyable and a fun way to see the city no matter the information shared.

      janet

  4. Beautiful photos, Janet. The Macy’s sculpture is fascinating.
    Ω

  5. Dan Antion says:

    Thanks for sharing your walking tour with us, Janet. A friend guided me on a similar tour a couple of years ago. Chicago is a beautiful city. Your Indians are certainly giving the Cubbies a run for it.

    • The river tour is still upcoming, Dan, but thanks for walking with us. Yes, the Indians are beating all expectations, so my Cleveland FB friends are ecstatic and my Chicago friends not so much. 🙂

  6. jan says:

    No visit to Marshall Fields? You did get some good weather – I lived there for three years (Evansville) and in October there was always snow on the ground!

    • Marshall Fields is Macy’s now, although the flagship building is still there. No, we didn’t go there, but we had a full day as it was, so no regrets. 🙂 The weather was a bonus.

      janet

  7. I’ve only been once, but Chicago really is a creative, visually dazzling little gem of a city. You’ve captured it so well. 🙂

  8. Been awhile since I’ve visited the ‘windy city.’ Going to have to get back there again… I miss the museums.

  9. Jane Lurie says:

    The Bean! A favorite stop and your capture brings back great memories. Well done, Janet.

  10. I am finally into October’s posts! I’m catching up ever so slowly.

    I really the reflection in the Bean. I was in Chicago once and only for day. I spent most of it in museums, but did do a little stroll by the lake. Thanks for your tour and sharing as I didn’t see this part of the city.

    • I know what you mean about trying to catch up, Deborah! On the days I work, I always feel I’m behind and the more challenges I’m part of, the more entries I feel I should visit. 🙂 But thanks for keeping at it and stopping by. I may have more about Chicago in the near future. The Bean is so cool.

      janet

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

