Thursday Doors…Windy City doors

Posted: November 3, 2016 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , , ,

Recently our older daughter, her boyfriend, and I spent the day in Chicago.  Chicago is a lovely mix of  historic buildings and sleek, modern beauties.  It was a glorious day and I managed to find a few doors to share with you without stopping more times than my companions could bear.  🙂

I don’t know what’s inside this Kay Jewelers store, but I do know not all the jewels are inside.

(P.S.  In view of all the comments about the peacock doors, I should say that I think they’re the gates/security doors, the ones that will be opened in the morning when the store opens.  Doesn’t detract from their glamour and beauty, though.)

© janet m. webb 2016

We’ve talked often here about the reuse of historic buildings and a perfect example of that is the water pumping station, built in 1869, in downtown Chicago, one of the few buildings to survive the great Chicago fire.  Here’s one set of doors to that station.  The station is still used as a pumping station, but it also houses the Lookingglass Theater Company.  Both the pumping station and the Water Tower across the street are in a style known as castellated gothic.

© janet m. webb 2016

This door is across the street from Blackbird, our lunch destination, one well worth your times to seek out. I thought it a creative way of saying “No parking.”

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. irinadim says:

    Those peacock doors are exquisite.

  2. macmsue says:

    I agree the peacock doors are stunning, also loved the quirky sign.

  3. GeorgieMoon says:

    Lovely doors! I’d love to visit Chicago.

  4. Sue says:

    Looks a great place for doors!

  5. Suzanne says:

    What great glimpses of what must be a great city to visit.

  6. Su Leslie says:

    Love the peacock doors too; they are gorgeous.

  7. The peacocks are the most beautiful, but it’s the pumping station I’d like to visit. So often, when I’m in very old buildings, I can almost “feel” the history involved in them. I can’t imagine all the history that building has absorbed. Of course, at the same time, when I think of those things, I sometimes have to laugh a little because when we think about that building and others like it being “so old,” they really are very, very young compared to thousands in Europe and the Middle East, some of which have experienced nearly a millennium of life. And I’m so glad this subject came up because talking about all those centuries old places makes me feel quite young!

    • Good morning, Sandra. Great to hear from you. The pumping station is quite interesting, especially as a survivor of the Great Fire. If you get to Chicago, take the architectural boat tour that we took later in the day. You’ll see all sorts of buildings from the river viewpoint, everything from some of the first buildings to the fancy new ones. Well worth it! It’s true that our old buildings aren’t that old in comparison to Europe’s or the Middle East’s, but then there weren’t people here building them at that time.

      janet

  8. Nato says:

    Those peacock doors are….WOW! How elaborate and glamorous!

    • They stunned me, that’s for sure. If you have to have security doors, this is the way to go. I’d love to know how old the doors are. Can’t imagine anyone would take the time and money these days to do them like that.

      janet

      • Nato says:

        Oh, yes. Those are the finest security doors I have ever seen. They would be my choice of bars any day! I imagine they cost a pretty penny too.

  9. jan says:

    Wow, can’t beat those peacock doors!

  10. Norm 2.0 says:

    I love that city. I remember seeing peacock doors at the Palmer House when I was last in Chicago in 2014. I’m not surprised to know they were used somewhere else as well.
    That no parking sign can’t get any simpler than that 😀
    Excellent choices this week.

  11. jesh stg says:

    Those peacocks are impressive artisan work!
    Am glad they explained what “driveway in use” means (chuckle).

  12. Dan Antion says:

    I love these doors! I saw the water tower and station several years ago while in town for a meeting. It was BD (before doors). I have pictures of the tower but no doors 😦

    Thsnks for sharing yours.

  13. Count me in, the Peacock doors are fabulous. Did you have time to get some closeups on any of the details?
    Ω

  14. Ludwig says:

    Magnificent those first two – still chuckling on the last one.

  15. Two very different doors, Janet, both lovely but I do love those peacock ones.

  16. dimlamp says:

    Interesting collection.

  17. thirdeyemom says:

    I miss Chicago so much! It is hard to believe it has been 16years since my husband and I lived in Lincoln Park and worked in the loop. Great victory too for the Cubs!

  18. OH MY! Those Peacock doors are gorgeous! What a find! I like the clever sign for no parking too.

  19. Candy says:

    Those peacock door are just Wow!

  20. Paula says:

    Peacock doors are a real treasure!

  21. Vicky says:

    Wow, those Peacock doors are a work of art!

  22. joey says:

    Wow, all of those are nice, but the peacocks ARE amazing! Great find 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

