Serious Sunday

Posted: November 6, 2016 in Personal
Tags: , , ,

Only a few days until the elections in the US and I’m ready for it to be over. I don’t know if this is really one of the nastiest elections in history or if it just seems like it.  But I’m done.

Here’s all you need to know about this or any other election.

If you’re eligible to vote, vote.  There are plenty places in the world where you wouldn’t have that privilege, where you might be killed for voting, tortured, your family threatened, etc.  And don’t pretend we’re living in one of those countries.

If you’re eligible to vote, try to learn about the candidates’ stances on the issues.  The issues are what matter.  Get past all the people and media who try to pull you into other things.  What does the candidate believe?  How has s/he voted in the past?  What are the beliefs of the people with whom they associate and work?

If you’re eligible to vote and don’t, don’t bitch.  You opted out. Tough luck.

If you’re alive, voting or not, pretend your children read or hear everything you say, wherever you say it.  Pretend you believe “If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.”

If you think you’ll change anyone’s mind by posting mean, nasty garbage on Facebook or elsewhere or that if you tell your friends who believe differently that “But I didn’t mean you” and that will make it OK, you’re living somewhere called LaLa Land where you shouldn’t be voting at all.

Most of all, if you’re a person, realize that you’re going to have to live with all the people around you once the election is over.  Those people who disagree with you, for the most part, love the country just as you do (or as you should).  They believe what their candidates want to do will be best for that country.  They may be wrong.  You may be wrong.  You may both be wrong.  But you’re going to have to live together, to try to move forward once this election is over.  Don’t make it impossible to do that.

Here’s what I said a few days ago on Facebook:

As difficult as it may be, remember that the people on the other side of the political aisle, although they may have a very different vision for our country, are not evil because of that. Disagree with their positions, but stop all the nastiness, name-calling, etc.! We all have to live with each other when this is finally over.

If you can’t do that, God help you and our country as well!

Comments
  1. Laura says:

    Wise words.

  2. ksbeth says:

    A great reminder-

  3. Lena says:

    I am not living in the USA, but media report a lot from the election here.
    You are so very wise Janet, no one should let hate take over.

  4. Very wise true words, the same level of hatred seemed to come into the Brexit vote in the UK.

  5. msgt3227 says:

    Bravo Janet! You said it all…

  6. I probably shouldn’t mix religion with politics, but I think we have sunk so far into the gutter with this election that God will definitely be required to help us get out. I know that on Tuesday I’m going to need his help marking that ballot.

    • Religion has to be a living part of people’s lives to be real, so it “mixes” with everything. If you believe in God and are engaging in this sort of hateful behavior, what do you think He feels? (That’s a general “you”, not you, Judy, of course.) I’ve already voted, as I work on Tuesday, and I’m as at peace with it as I can be.

      janet

  7. Norm 2.0 says:

    Bravo Janet 👏👏👏

  8. Well-said, Janet. Wednesday should be a very interesting day for all of us.
    Ω

  9. Thank you for proving you are one of the most sane (sanest?) people around here. There is a guy at work who loses no opportunity to espouse his political views daily. I never get sucked into his dialogue since I disagree with every stance he makes. Still, we are able to work together and even be pleasant to each other!

    • I think you either have to be able to discuss without getting angry or just not talk about it. I’m fine with people who disagree with me. I have friends with whom I disagree on almost all political issues, but we can talk about them. I think that on social media, the lack of face to face contact makes everything much nastier. At least I hope most of the comments I read wouldn’t be said in person. If so, we’re worse off than I think.

      janet

  10. Oh, I’ve been ready for this thing to be over for a year now. It’s just too much… Truly stranger than fiction. You’ve summed it up so much more eloquently than I can at this point.

  11. bythebriny says:

    I don’t even live in the U.S. but I am so ready for this election to be over!

  12. Well said, Janet. Ten days in Scotland was a relief, but even over there, they are worried about the election results and it’s in many of their front page headlines. I am so ready to be done.

    • Scotland and the rest of the UK (or not so United K) had their problems with Britexit! Even if other countries don’t like it, what happens in America has long-reaching effects. I think the lack of civility all around is what bothers me the most. Without that, there’s little possibility for discussion or compromise.

  13. Jan Morrill says:

    Wise words, and I agree, Janet. Unfortunately, I think lots of people are living in LaLa Land, and don’t think about the fact they’ve offended friends and loved ones with their words. Yes, I, too, am ready for this election to be over, though I’m afraid that won’t be an end to the ugliness.

    • I think the ugliness is something that’s been growing quietly (or not so quietly) since the advent of social media and the ability to be nasty without having to be face-to-face or to deal with consequences. It’s a very bad situation. Whoever said “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words can never harm me” wasn’t at all right, even though I understand the idea.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

