Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Nature…early morning

Posted: December 5, 2016 in Phoneography Challenge
Tags: , , , , ,

If this is the first Monday in December, it must be time for “Nature” as the theme for Sally’s challenge, open to all who take photos with non-traditional cameras.  Mine non-traditional camera of choice is an iPhone 5s and I love the ease of taking it with me everywhere.  My favorite Kühl hiking pants have a pocket on the side that’s just the right size of the camera and I can unzip the pocket and take out the camera with just one hand.  In winter, when I need those flannel-lined jeans I touted yesterday, I tuck the camera into my fanny pack.

No matter the pants I’m wearing, I often get to the park at sunrise, something much easier to do when the sun doesn’t come up until 7:30 am or so!  Here’s an example of what you might see if you venture out with me.  We can stop for coffee or tea on the way home.  Happy Monday morning.

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. Janet, a sweet image to start the day–wow, you are up and out in the chill of the day, which I’m sure where you live is chillier than chill. But you get to see the sun rise. Wish that I could prod myself more often to do the same. Happy Photo Challenge.

    • Today the view looked nothing like this, it was pure and beautiful winter. We had at least 6″ or more of the heavy, gorgeous snow yesterday and I’m in reveling mode today! It grabs my heart and makes my soul sing for joy.

      Happy Monday!

      janet

  2. Lena says:

    Lovely light, I think you got more than one type of weather in the same picture 🙂

  3. I love the colors in this this one, Janet, and as always: you are the Queen of Frames. The way the yellow edge fades into the photo mimics the rays of the sun in the sky. Well done.

    Your story is also on point. I have several pairs of Kuhl pants just to have that handy side pocket for my iPhone. On a side-note: there is a theory that if God wanted us to enjoy the sunrise on a daily basis he/she would have it occur later in the day…

    Thanks for starting my day off on a good note,
    Ω

    • Allan, I really appreciate the feedback on the frames. I don’t know if everyone likes them and often I just do a very small bit of vignette, but I think framing of some sort often sets of a photo to advantage. As far as the sunrise theory goes, I guess God wanted us to enjoy them more when days are shorter and there isn’t as much light. It’s lots easier to see one when the sun comes up at 7:30 am or thereabouts! But you can always enjoy them here. 🙂

      So glad I could start your day on a good note. May it continue that way.

      • When I scan the items in my WP Reader I know your posts right away when I see a tasteful color framing a photo. For me, it is your “style” and I don’t think that you need to torture yourself about using them. They are as much a part of the photo as your composition and subject matter. I don’t see them as a last-minute decoration to adorn the image—they are part of the image.

        Stick to your guns, yer doin’ jest fine!
        Ω

      • You brought a big smile to my face, Allan. Thanks!

  4. Such a wonderful image, Janet. Great composition too. 🙂

  5. Dan Antion says:

    I always take a camera with me when we walk, and when I drive to work, I put it on the passenger seat. I have a few places where I can easily pull over (and a few where I wish I could). This is a beautiful photo, Janet.

  6. Angeline M says:

    I love the muted colors and most of all the minimalism. Lovely setting for this photo. I am going to have to go on Amazon and take a look at these Kuhl pants..haven’t heard of them, but I always need a pocket like that for my phone.
    Happy Holidays, Janet.

    • Just warning you that most of the pants don’t seem to have a pocket big enough for a camera, so you have to look carefully. They are, however, wonderfully comfortable. I’d get another pair like mine, but I don’t think they have that style anymore. 😦

  7. Su Leslie says:

    This is a lovely shot Janet. I woke up to find my world shrouded in a very unseasonal mist today. Perfect for a photo-walk.

  8. bythebriny says:

    What a beautiful morning sky!

  9. Tina Schell says:

    That’s a beauty Janet – love the way you framed it.

  10. de Wets Wild says:

    So beautiful, Janet. Looks like a spot I could sit in all day.

    • The park is small, but beautiful. There aren’t any places to sit, but I love to walk there. There are also trails that are more like wildlife trails and I like to walk on them when it’s not summer and too overgrown.

  11. nowathome says:

    What a wonderful way to start a day!! Such wonderful colours!!

  12. That tangerine sum peeking through knocks my socks off!!

  13. My iPhone 5 never took a photo this pretty! Even with other camera apps!

    I LOVE Kuhl hiking pants! I have two pair in the color sage, and just ordered two pair in black. A Christmas gift to myself.
    My favorite style is the pair with the snap pocket on both sides of the pants. I wish the pocket were a bit deeper now that I’m toting the iPhone 7Plus I can’t snap the pocket shut when I also have my foldable Ray Bans in the pocket too like I could with my iPhone 5.

    I’d get up and meet you at the park, and on these chilly mornings a hot cup of tea would be most welcome after watching the sun rise!

    • You’d be more than welcome to meet me and I have plenty of tea! The problem with clothes is that is always seems that just when you find the right thing, they change the style. Then there’s always the problem of the phone size changing, too. Ah, well, I do love Kuhl, though.

      janet

      • Me too! My new black pairs arrived today. They fit just as good as my first two pair so I’m keeping them. I’ll be washing them and wearing a pair this week-end.

        re: cell phone size. I’m hoping sizing starts to shrink again one day. 🙂

        Thank you for the tea offer! I’d love to have tea with you after a morning walk in the park.

      • It’s a date. We’ll make it work one day.

  14. OK, Janet, I’m in. Meet you early and we’ll stop for coffee on the way back home. 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

