Thursday Doors…The devil’s in the details.

Posted: December 8, 2016 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , , ,

What does that phrase really mean?  According to Grammarist:

The idiom the devil is in the details means that mistakes are usually made in the small details of a project. Usually it is a caution to pay attention to avoid failure.

An older, and slightly more common, phrase God is in the detail means that attention paid to small things has big rewards, or that details are important.

The devil version of the idiom is a variation on the God phrase, though the exact origin of both is uncertain.

In these cases, again from the Chicago Institute of Art, God evidently won out, as did Thursday Doors.

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

This photo suddenly was coming out squashed-looking in the post, so I’m going to try adding it again in a different spot and see whether or not that helps.  Weird!

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. marianallen says:

    Ooooo! The Chicago Art Institute is a constant, endless delight of details, isn’t it? What beautiful doors!

  2. Norm 2.0 says:

    This place is at the top of my list the next time I’m in Chicago – I didn’t have time on previous visits.
    You know you’ll get my attention every time if you show me fine furniture pieces like this – they truly are museum-quality.
    Great post Janet 🙂

  3. GW-H Photos says:

    Lovely, skilled crafted works.

  4. joey says:

    Oh my, yes. Stunning pieces. The insets on the first one are impeccable, and well, I love that style. Instead of long weekends in Chicago, I think I need a whole week 🙂

  5. Oh I love the top two pieces! Gorgeous, especially that top trunk! Does it open out too? Magic! 🙂

  6. jesh stg says:

    Beautiful inlaid pieces with the doves and tree! Didn’t know the phrase “God is in the details” -but to me it’s more comforting, lol.

  7. Dan Antion says:

    These details were certainly inspired somewhere north of the Devil’s region. These are beautiful.

  8. Beautiful woodworking examples, Janet.
    Ω

  9. I love that first piece of furniture, it’s gorgeous, Janet.

  10. Su Leslie says:

    These are lovely pieces of furniture Janet; and great shots.

  11. A great selection of doors! I love going to the Art Institute. I always took our girls there during the summer vacations, and then my grandsons. I’m looking forward to taking my youngest grandchildren there when they are old enough to appreciate all the wonderful things that are there.

  12. Inger says:

    Some very nice work you are displaying here:) Much more personality and charm that what you can find at Ikea – but I guess these ones are not for sale:)

  13. Great stuff, Janet! How about presenting your credentials as a Thursday Door inspector on your next visit and see if that grants you free access; you can add Norm & Dan’s names as references (or all of us Thursday Door bloggers if you like because we are worldwide and will advertise their existence). 😉

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

