Weekly Photo Challenge: New horizon…Stick to it!

Posted: December 9, 2016 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , ,

Last week, we were told to “Relax” or show something that made us feel relaxed.  What will it be this cold December week?  I’m taking a break from some ironing to find out. In my part of the world, the weather is definitely winter: cold and some snow from Sunday’s largess still on the ground.  The weather report is promising between 4 and 10+” over the next four days.  We’ll see how that goes.  But hey, it’s winter and I love it!

Ok, here it is:  “New Horizon“, in either a literal or figurative sense.  It would be easy to do this in a literal sense, but I’m not going that way.  I have things I want to do next year or in the next few years.  However, right now, they are somewhat inchoate.  This challenge stimulates me to think about them a bit more, although after Christmas will really be a better time.  Right now my brain is filled with planning for that, my favorite holiday, and our girls coming home as well as one s-i-l, plus work, plus practicing with the praise team for all the special music on Christmas Even and Christmas Day, and…   I think this little stick figure, a literal stick figure that I found in the beautiful snow on my Monday morning walking through the silent and beautiful park,  represents how I feel about new horizons right now.  🙂

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. That little stick figure has a lot of personality!

    • I thought so, too. There were several little areas where there were a number of skinny sticks that had evidently plummeted or parachuted from the trees during the storm, but this was the only one with arms and hair. 🙂

      janet

  2. Dina says:

    Yes, a lovely figure to stick with! ❤

  3. Sandra says:

    Love that ponytail… 🙂 Have a nice weekend, Janet.

  4. Happy little tree person makes me smile 🙂
    Wonderful perspective
    ~C

  5. […] This, that and the other thing Weekly Photo Challenge: New horizon…Stick to it! […]

  6. Such a happy little fellow, with his arms in the air. I hope your new year will be as happy as this Mr. Stick, Janet.

  7. karen says:

    That stick really has Something. Have a good weekend. It’s 15 degrees here. Normal temperature should be around 7 degrees. I’m making the best of it.

  8. viveka says:

    Janet, lovely entry …. with open arms against the whole world. Happy and inviting … come on and I will give you a hug.

  9. bythebriny says:

    A cute little stick figure, well spotted!

  10. Dan Antion says:

    I like this photo a lot, Janet.

  11. bikerchick57 says:

    It looks like a Charlie Brown tree. Nice photo, Janet. Enjoy your holidays, your kids, singing at church and the rest of your new horizons.

  12. Anita says:

    Love this little stick figure – it seems so happy it’s contagious! ☺
    Have a great weekend, Janet!

  13. “The Blogger Formerly Known As Janet”? LOL. I look forward to whatever you come up with next.
    Ω

    • 🙂 I’m not considering stopping blogging, Allan. Maybe trying to do something with my photography. I’d like to find something to make a bit of money that would allow me to work for myself. You know I always appreciate your support. Hope you and the Lioness have a wonderful Christmas season!

      • Thanks, Janet. I was actually trying to tie the shape of the stick to the late singer’s symbol for his name (when he didn’t use one). Good luck with the business plan and have a merry holiday.
        Ω

      • I guess that tells you how familiar I was with Prince (as he was once called.) 🙂 We’ve always gotten a lot of mileage out of his name change and adapting it to other people, such as you did with me.

  14. I never thought there could be any beauty in a simple stick, and yet here you’ve proven me wrong yet again. You always manage to find such characters out in your photographic adventures, whether living or not!

  15. Inger says:

    The perfect combination of title and photo:) Stick to it!

  16. Haha, love your theme interpretation, Janet!

  17. thirdeyemom says:

    Beautiful Janet! Yes it is really cold here today. Only five degrees! I’m gearing up to go on a cold run around the lake. But must embrace it!

  18. Brrrr … is the little stick looking for warmth? : )
    Nice find you photographed, Janet.
    Have a great weekend,
    Isadora 😎

  19. Jane Lurie says:

    Words to live by, Janet. I like your image as the metaphor. 😃

  20. Mona lisa says:

    That stick truly has Something. Have a decent end of the week. It’s 15 degrees here. Ordinary temperature ought to associate with 7 degrees. I’m making the best of it.
    http://dudhwa.co.in/

  21. I love this response to the challenge

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

