Perspective, reprised

Posted: December 10, 2016 in Friday Fictioneers
Tags: , , , ,

Almost four and a half years ago, I started writing a weekly hundred-word story based on a photo for Friday Fictioneers.  I kept at it for over three years and only stopped because the group had grown so much that I couldn’t read all the other stories, not that it was a requirement, but because I felt I should if I expected everyone else to read mine. This was my first hundred words.

 

He looks out…
sees space,
sees opportunity;
feels freedom.

She looks out…
sees space,
sees emptiness;
feels loneliness.

He looks down…
sees crops,
sees growth;
feels anticipation.

She looks down…
sees dryness,
sees obstacles;
feels discouragement.

He looks inward…
sees challenge,
sees work;
feels tall.

She looks inward…
sees questions,
sees work;
feels uncertain.

He looks toward her…
sees beauty
sees courage;
feels tenderness.

She looks toward him…
sees caring,
sees fortitude;
feels  resolution.

They look outward…
see opportunity,
see hardship;
feel purpose.

They look together…
see the sunrise,
see each other;
feel love.

Comments
  1. GeorgieMoon says:

    I’m not big on poetry and tend to avoid it, but I read yours above and it was brilliant. But is it poetry, or just 100 words? It looks like a poem, but maybe not. But it doesn’t matter, I really enjoyed it.

    • Georgie, it makes me very happy to read your comment. I put it in a poetry form because of the way I wanted to contrast their points of view, so I think of it as a poem, but not a rhyming one, of course. I’m glad you took a chance on reading it anyway and liked it. Happy Saturday.

      janet

  2. Beautiful. Thank you for sharing. There are so many interesting “blog starters”, to get people writing on topic. I wonder what those High School English teachers I had in the 70’s are thinking about all the creative writing taking place WILLINGLY today? I never thought at the onset of the home computer and the internet this kind of platform would be something I would be with, and enjoying.

    • I never even thought about blogging until about 5 years ago, my husband and our younger daughter urged me to start a blog. I did mostly writing of various kinds until the photography started taking over. I want to get back to a bit more writing again, but maybe after the wonderful busy-ness of Christmas. 🙂

      janet

  3. msgt3227 says:

    Well….I got a wonderful wave of chills reading this! Thank you!!

  4. I remember this poem, and still love it. I also remember the stress of not being able to read everyone’s stories but loving the community!

    • Thanks and yes, Madison. I know we didn’t have to read them all, but I always felt I should and, for the most part, wanted to. Maybe next year…and maybe I’ll just share some of these off and on and do my own writing here. Happy Saturday and hello to Rob.

      janet

  5. Dan Antion says:

    That’s beautiful. I understand the implied pressure to read more and more, but there is a limit. Don’t let the obligation stop you from answering, if you hear the call to write.

  6. carol1945 says:

    I am having trouble putting into words how meaningful this poem is for me. You captured how two people see the same thing and see it differently, yet how love can bring them to oneness.

    • Carol, you comment touched me. Thank you. I was thinking about how the pioneers must have felt, especially the woman. What a difficult life for any of them, yet they went on and made the best of it. I hope you enjoy the weekend.

      janet

  7. Wow, that is beautiful, Janet! I always enjoy your insights through photography and now I have a greater appreciation of you through your words. You summed up the complex but complimentary differences in the male/female relationship very well in “100 words.” And for me, more of a visual learner, the photo gave greater insight into the way couples look at things from different perspectives, and yet, can work together for positive outcomes, meeting one another’s needs through the process.

    • Thanks so much, Chuck. The way Friday Fictioneers works is that we’re given a photo prompt, usually from one of the writer, and then everyone writes his/her own 100 words about it. It was quite a lot of fun and I’m thinking of bringing back one of mine each week. I was hoping people who knew me for photography would enjoy it, so I’m happy to read this.

      janet

  8. I like this entry, Janet. Will you be doing more in the future?
    Ω

  9. bythebriny says:

    I like how you brought the two perspectives together in the end. I’m a fan of happy endings, I guess!

  10. jan says:

    Two very different perspectives! Nicely done. I know what you mean about the necessity to read if you want people to read your stuff! It can get overwhelming.

  11. jules says:

    I like it. I was surprised by the ending as I’d thought the opposing views might not have come together! I hope you keep on writing.

  12. joey says:

    I think that was just lovely, janet 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

