Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Macro…The art of seeing

Posted: December 12, 2016 in Phoneography Challenge
Tags: , , , , ,

Sometimes when I walk, I’m focused mainly on the big picture, the sky, the sunrise, the clouds and the plants and trees reaching for them. Often, though, I look more closely, down lower, seeking the smaller, hidden or less obvious things, their minute beauty waiting to be discovered and appreciated. That’s the fun of macro photography, seeing the other side of nature or, in this case, the other side of a leaf, and presenting it as something that looks very different.

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. wow.. The picture made me want to zoom in even more and look into those crevices and craters. Very nice.
    Randy

    • Good morning, Randy. I’m glad you enjoyed the shot. The leaves are covered with snow now and it’s beautiful, although I imagine you’re glad you don’t have any. 🙂 Happy Monday.

      janet

  2. marianallen says:

    Extraordinary! When I was young, I always wanted a microscope for Christmas. (I got one, every few years — they were cheap and didn’t last). The beauty and complexity of the micro world is everlastingly astounding. 🙂

  3. carol1945 says:

    Oh, my goodness, did you actually do that with an iPhone? It is fabulous, and I, too, just love macro photography. I have a DSLR with a macro lens, but I really don’t know how to use it. And, who wants to carry it around?

  4. Janet, marvelous capture and lovely to ponder. Happy Photo Challenge.

  5. Wow you did this with your iPhone? I need to get a macro adapter for mine! This is neat!

  6. Beautiful roadmap to winter. Sweet capture.

  7. A beautiful color palette to serve as as background to the magnifying effect of the water drops, Janet.
    Ω

  8. Dan Antion says:

    Beautiful photo, Janet. You handled the composition very well, which I find difficult with macros.

    • Thanks, Dan. I really enjoy macro photography and, thankfully, the iPhone is pretty good at it. I do have a set of Olloclips but never have them with me at the park when I want to do a macro. I also need to get my Nikon macro lens out and start working with that and my tripod.

  9. Janet, what an amazing shot and interesting color. 🙂

  10. bythebriny says:

    Beautiful colour. The droplets are icing on the cake.

  11. Tina Schell says:

    Love this one Janet – and agree often the more interesting photo opp is in the small details most people never really see.

  12. Amy says:

    That is a beautiful macro shot, Janet! Lovely color. 🙂

  13. Mona lisa says:

    stunning.. The photo made me need to zoom in much more and investigate those hole and holes. Exceptionally nice….
    http://www.ranthamborejeepsafari.com/

  14. Love the color of this leaf.

  15. Suzanne says:

    That’s impressive. I love the purple colour. You have a gift for this type of photography.

  16. mutersumptin says:

    Macro is so interesting.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

