Stream of Consciousness…iron-y

Posted: December 13, 2016 in Stream of Consciousness, Writing
Tags: , , , , , ,

Some of my  blogging friends participate in a Stream of Consciousness challenge.  I haven’t until now.  Actually, I’m not participating officially now, as that challenge has a theme and this week’s isn’t “ironing.”  A SOC usually arrives when I’m somewhere I can’t write it down, often while driving.  This one flew into my head while ironing.  I was going to say I can’t remember the last time I ironed, but that would be a lie.  It wasn’t that long ago, when I ironed my first set of sheets.  But before that?  Who knows?

Yes, of course I’ve had sheets before. I don’t just sleep on the mattress pad.  But all my sheets prior to this have been the kind you can just pull from the dryer and either put back on the bed or away. My goal in life, at least my goal regarding laundry and related activites, has been to iron as little as possible.  My husband being an IT guy makes that much easier.  He has always worn polo shirts and casual pants to work and now that he’s working mostly from home, I won’t even tell you what he wears…or doesn’t.  J But none of those clothes need ironing.  Pull ironable things from the dryer at just the right moment, when still somewhat damp and before wrinkles, hang  them, and hey presto!  The wrinkles iron themselves.

But when I was in France this summer, my s-i-l took me to an outlet store for linens, pillows, etc.  Her birthday present to me was a set of sheets and pillowcases, a lovely set made of percale.  Percale, in French or English = ironing.  I had to venture into the basement, dust off the ironing board, haul it upstairs, find the iron and the distilled water.  I was afraid both the iron and I might have forgotten how to iron, but it must be like riding a bicycle, because we both did fine.

Ironing isn’t a bad thing.  I have time to think (a LOT of time with this queen-sized set), but ironing a fitted sheet is quite interesting.  However, ironing one pales in comparison to attempting to fold one in any sort of decent shape!  If you’ve ever tried it, you understand.  If you haven’t, there’s no way to convey the frustration.  However, watch this short commercial for Lowe’s, which conveys it perfectly and made me jump out of my comfy chair the first time I saw it and shout, “Yes!  That is SO true!” (or something like it.)  Click here and do watch it!  She-Who-Must-Be-Obeyed has spoken.

Ironing led me rabbit-tracking to Laura Ingalls Wilder of the Little House books fame.  Folding a fitted sheet pales in comparison to ironing anything and everything (they were probably glad not to have many clothes when it came to washing and ironing in those days) with an iron that had to be heated up over and over and over and over and likely weighed a great deal.  Laura was born in 1867 and died in 1957.  Just imagine what she saw during her lifetime!  Here’s a not-too-annoy-because-of-ads spot that lists some of them:  http://www.historylearningsite.co.uk/inventions-and-discoveries-of-the-twentieth-century/inventions-1900-to-1990/.

I’m not sure where Laura let me because about that time, my husband came downstairs wondering what was for lunch and just before we finished, the man came to replace bits of the water meter, and then my Consciousness had evidently all streamed out.  That’s where it stands as of this moment (and how often do you see a stream standing?) and as my tea is rapidly cooling, I’m going to sit and enjoy it (the tea).  I can tell people that today I was streaming live!

Comments
  1. I’m with you… I try to avoid ironing. but it isn’t that bad… I can watch tv while burning brown holes in marks shirts and I can ponder about some things… mostly about harry potter, although there was nothing with an iron…;O)

  2. I remember my dear Aunt (1923-2013) had a wonderful machine in her back room that did her sheets nicely. A mangle? You might love this – https://youtu.be/7Ll24iHp214
    Then of course, Martha Stewart – the ultimate in homemaking and stock trading – has a few tips –https://youtu.be/Q-a2FR1iwqg . Enjoy!

    • I’ve heard of mangles and probably manged the fitted sheet. 🙂 It’s easy to be Martha when you have a thousand minions to do all the things you dream up! I am, however, the only minion in my house for that sort of thing. Thanks for the links. I’ll check them out when I have some time. Have to get ready for work right now. I hope you have a great, iron-free day.

      janet

  3. Janet, you gave me goosebumps and not the good kind. Ironing sheets – no, no, no. Because you S-i-l is special to you, I’d probably use them for the backing of a quilt and call it good. 🙂 One of my chores when I was a child on the farm during the summers was to iron, and iron I did hours at a time. Today I iron when I need to and I iron a lot of material as I quilt, but no way would you find me ironing sheets. I applaud your efforts. 🙂

  4. Laura says:

    I like to iron. I iron once a week pillow cases and cloth napkins. I have never ironed bed sheets.

  5. anne leueen says:

    I enjoyed this immensely! I used to iron and my favourites were linen place mats and napkins. The rest of the ironing would pile up on a stool in the kitchen and I would make jokes about the “ironing slave” being on holiday! I now avoid ironing almost completely!

  6. Sherry Felix says:

    Your story of ironing brought up a memory. I used to have to iron all the clothes at home when I was a teenager. I particular disliked ironing my stepfather’s shirts which gave of a noxious smell when ironed. After I left home I stopped ironing.

    • My mom ironed my dad’s shirts because he had to wear dress shirts with his suit. She also ironed his handkerchiefs, but those are easy. 🙂 His shirts smelled good, though, as many freshly ironed clothes do.

      janet

  7. Dan Antion says:

    “Ironing” – Can you clarify ?

  8. You can’t step into the same river twice, and perhaps that applies to streams as well. Loved the video and I’m with you: grab the clothes out of the dryer real fast and forget the ironing.
    Ω

  9. marianallen says:

    I have ironed, but we don’t even have an iron or an ironing board anymore. On the other hand, I can fold a fitted sheet like a champion.

  10. Su Leslie says:

    Janet I so loved this post. I hate ironing, but love the feel of freshly pressed bed linen. I only buy cotton sheets — and they’re fitted — so eventually I have to do it. But only when we completely run out of linen or can’t get into the back bedroom because it’s so full of stuff waiting to be ironed

    • Su, these sheets are quite wonderful once ironed, so I”m willing to do it. They also smell delicious. One day I hope to have a clothes line so I can hang things, including these sheets, outside and that may take more wrinkles out as well as give them that fresh air smell.

      janet

      • Su Leslie says:

        🙂 yes, hanging clothes to dry on a line is really good. Something I take for granted here, but missed in the UK where the weather was more often than not a bit clothes-line unfriendly.

  11. HonieBriggs says:

    Fitted sheets aren’t meant to be rolled into a puffy ball? 😂

  12. I think if your husband is working from home, he should have the decency to at least wear something you can describe to us. When I work from home, I usually wear what passes for pajamas. Sometimes I’ll shower and dress. But why would you iron sheets? No one is going to ee them. And once you put them on the bed they will get creased again. I don’t think Lynn has ever ironed sheets. I know I haven’t.

  13. pattisj says:

    A fun, light-hearted read, Janet. I can’t imagine ironing sheets, period, let alone fitted! What a lovely gift, I imagine they are quite nice.

    • They’re lovely, Patti, which is the only reason I would bother ironing them. True, they’ll get wrinkled again, but not nearly as badly. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I’m trying to do a bit more writing and not just photography as I enjoy both.

      janet

  14. I loved this post! I laughed out loud at the end. Streaming live!! Love it!

    I’m with you I don’t like ironing either, and don’t do it very often anymore. I’ve never ironed sheets! I have taken them to the cleaners who do a wonderful job, and I get them done with light starch. I love getting into be with clean, fresh, crisp sheets. I usually manage to get to bed first on sheet changing day, but I’m always so disappointed if I’m not the first one in bed on that day. 🙂

  15. joey says:

    Heh.
    I am a pima-sateen kinda girl, no ironing the sheets, thanks. Just hung and shaken and tossed back on. But, when I stay with my mother in Florida, the sheets are percale in the summer and are always pressed. Freshly-pressed percale feels like the comfort of my mother. ❤
    It's snowing today, so my linens are in the dryer 🙂

    • What a great feeling, Joey (and you don’t have to iron them!!) Mine feel like France, so that’s a good feeling, too, even if I have to iron them.

      Not snowing today, but with 7 for the high (right now) and feeling like -9, any laundry here will be in the dryer, too. 🙂

      Stay warm!

      janet

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

