Weekly Photo Challenge: Anticipation…Wyoming

Posted: December 16, 2016 in Personal, Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , , , ,

“Oh, the weather outside is frightful, but inside it’s so delightful” could have been written for our Chicago-area weather the last week.  Snow, cold temperatures, and frigid windchill have ushered us into winter…and I’m fine with that.  I went for a walk this morning with a friend who has two dogs.  We walk once a week in almost all sorts of weather.  I found that my years-old ski gloves are still warm and wonderful.  🙂  Truth be told, the cold kept away people from the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, so I was able to walk in and immediately get the tag for my van.  Gotta love that!!

This week, the Photo Challenge theme is “Anticipation.”  I’ll eschew the first things that come to mind at this time of year:  family being all together for Christmas, the house being decorated, Christmas Eve service.  But what does that leave me?

Those of you who know me know that the place dear to my heart is in the mountains of Wyoming.  I feel anticipation for all road trips, but that one fills me with joy.  I (and then we) have traveled the same route more or less since I was in college many, many years ago, so I see familiar spots as we drive along.  But this is the sight that makes my soul brim with happiness almost too great to be contained, because it means we’ve almost arrived.

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. My soul brims with happiness just looking at your mountains.
    Thank you 😀

  2. The only thing missing from this photo are the horses. 🙂 Hope you have another great trip in 2017.

  3. Laura says:

    It is so nice to have a special place 🙂

  4. Sandra says:

    Looks splendid! I can understand your feelings.

  5. viveka says:

    Janet, you always deliver a very special angle with your entries … I really like your way of thinking. Have a lovely weekend.

  6. Indira says:

    Beautiful picture Janet. I always feel as if mountains are calling. Have a wonderful Christmas dear.

  7. bythebriny says:

    What a beautiful scene. I can see why you love it so.

  8. paintdigi says:

    Good posts, beautiful blog.
    Congratulations.
    Welcome to see my creations:
    http://paintdigi.com

  9. Lindy Le Coq says:

    Oh, I so understand that sensation — almost there! Beautiful selection, Janet.

  10. The way you feel about the hills of Wyoming is how I feel about the red rocks of Sedona Arizona. I can’t stand the commercialization of the downtown area but the mountains and trails are gorgeous. But then, almost anywhere out of doors and into nature is my ideal. I have been back there many times since I first discovered it around 1972 or 3.

  11. Suzanne says:

    Wyoming looks so beautiful but it must be terribly cold over there. Your weather even featured on our news over here in Oz. I hope you can keep warm .

    • Suzanne, we’re only in Wyoming in the summer. Sometimes in the winter, there’s so much snow that the road up the mountain to this point and beyond is completely closed for weeks/months, accessible only by snowmobile. We live the rest of the time in the Chicago area, where it’s very cold right now and through Monday, after which it will “warm up.” 🙂 I enjoy winter, but I definitely keep warm. 🙂 Just a side note, at 7,000′ altitude where we are in the summer, it’s been known to snow in June. We were there once for that.

      janet

  12. What a gorgeous sight, Janet! 😃Happy weekend to you. xx

  13. Those mountains are filled with memories and new adventures. Your joy shines through your words and vision. Love it!
    *hugs*

  14. Lena says:

    What a joyful approach to this weeks theme Janet. The anticipation of Christmas gathering, what can be better? And those trips…I understand you completely, a lovely veiw.

  15. barrydjd says:

    Pretty well surrounded by the Coast Mountains where I live, which makes it especially handy when you love to climb them.

  16. Dee-vita says:

    Looks beautiful. Tranquil 🙂

  17. Anita says:

    Arriving at a place that’s so close to one’s heart… That’s anticipation everyone can relate to! Lovely picture, Janet. ☺

    • Thanks, Anita. In this case, I savor the anticipation because I enjoy each step/mile of getting there, revisiting familiar yet enjoyable places, and finally reaching the desired destination. Have a great weekend.

  18. Su Leslie says:

    Beautiful image Janet. I totally understand how such a place could capture your heart and nourish your soul.

  19. Dan Antion says:

    It’s easy to see why you enjoy going/being there, Janet. It’s beautiful

  20. thirdeyemom says:

    Have a wonderful Christmas Janet and Happy New Year. Enjoy Wyoming!

  21. Lenore Brashear says:

    Well, I am new to this group.
    I worked one summer, when I was first married 1958, in Saratoga, Wyoming on a cattle ranch from May til the first snow flew in October. Then we drove the cattle down from summer grazing in the mountains to winter hay stacks in the valley. Where is your part of a large and varied state?

  22. lisakunk says:

    There’s nothing like having a place you go to repeatedly and love the journey and the destination.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

