The Chicago Christkindlmarket opened in Naperville this year at Naperville Settlement.  Booths of Christmas products mostly from Germany, food, and drink combined to bring the both sorts of flavors of the season to a spot only a few miles from our house.  We met friends there the first weekend, on a cold night decorated with gorgeous snow.  In addition to the market, there was a festival of lights, a few of which I’ll share with you.  Here’s hoping your Christmas/holiday season is filled with light and happiness.

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. I love it… and I miss this christkindle markets a little…

  2. So so pretty, I envy you your snow! Have a very merry Christmas xx

    • It now appears that as the week progresses, temperatures will creep above freezing, so the snow may be gone by Christmas. 😦 I hope we at least have some yet, but I’ll just enjoy it now. Our girls will be happier that it will be a bit warmer, though, especially the one who now lives in California! 🙂

      janet

  3. ‘Tis the season to be jolly and this would definitely do it. 🙂

  4. Joanne Sisco says:

    The light displays are one of my favourite parts of Christmas. The long hours of darkness just beg for the bright lights.

    • We always enjoy driving around to see all the spectacular (and not so spectacular) light displays. I thing more people wouldn’t mind winter if there was as much light as in summer. But take heart–the days start getting longer tomorrow!!!

      janet

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        I’ve said the same thing. I wouldn’t mind winter if the hours of sunlight rivalled the summertime.
        We are not the kind of people to flock to the Caribbean in the winter. I’m not a fan of the sun setting at 6 pm. It feels wrong, especially when it’s warm outside.
        That’s when I realized it wasn’t the warmth I was craving, but the sunlight.

        That doesn’t stop me from wanting to experience the winter days of darkness in the Arctic … but followed by the midnight sun in summer 🙂

      • Right now, it’s dark by about 4:30 here, which is just too early. I would love to experience the Arctic days, but not live in them!!

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        I agree – 2, maybe 3 days tops!!

  5. Happy Holidays, Janet.
    Randy

  6. Dan Antion says:

    I love the lights, Janet, especially the canopy of colored lights!

  7. carol1945 says:

    The colors cheer me up; I love getting these Christmas spirit photos from around the world. It reminds me of when I was young and had a German pen pal.

  8. Snow, lights, friends, and a Christmas Market. That’s a great way to start this week. Wonder and a bit of delight to cheer.

  9. bythebriny says:

    How beautiful and festive.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

