Thursday Doors…Naper Settlement

Posted: December 29, 2016 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , , ,

Not far from our house is Naper Settlement.

“Naper Settlement is an outdoor 19th century living history museum that serves northeastern Illinois as a unique educational and cultural resource. The village tells the story of how life changed throughout the 19th century for the people of northern Illinois in towns such as Naperville.

During this era, Naper’s Settlement was transformed from a pioneer outpost in 1831 to a bustling turn-of-the century community. Through its costumed interpreters and 30 historic buildings located on the 12-acre grounds, history is brought to life with educational and hands-on activities for 150,000 visitors each year.”

This year, the Christkindelmarkt was held at the Settlement and I was able to get a few shots of doors on some of the buildings.  I’ll have to go back for an actual tour of all the houses, buildings, and grounds when it’s warmer.  To visit the site of Norm, our host for Thursday Doors, and to find the link to more great doors, just click here. New door fiends are always welcome!

© janet m. webb 2016

Chapel doors

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. Joanne Sisco says:

    Great choice of doors. I like the first one with the use of natural pine boughs to decorate the door frame and railing.
    … but the green and yellow on the 3rd building is eye catching.

    • The last one reminds me of many of the farm homes I used to see in Nebraska, although not necessarily that color. The chapel looked even better the night we went to the Christkindelmarkt and there was snow. 🙂

      janet

  2. Norm 2.0 says:

    Lovely shots Janet. That last shot has such a quiet old-time feel about it – nicely done 🙂

  3. dennyho says:

    The lemon-lime house and door is a colorful standout, especially with the pinecone in the forefront of your photo. Nice!

  4. marianallen says:

    I love arches, but that green door and trim on the yellow house take my heart.

  5. Dan Antion says:

    I love places like this, Janet, and I love these doors. I think my favorite is the natural finished oak doors with the arched (tombstone) windows. I like the panel layout. If I ever get out that way with some time to spare, I think I’ll be stopping here.

  6. jan says:

    I’ve actually been to Naperville. I lived in Arlington Heights for a couple of years. I don’t remember Naper Settlement but it sounds like a cool place to visit. Happy New Year! Hope it’s a good one.

  7. I really like the chapel doors with the pine wreath and garland on the handrails.

    Is that a selfie I see in the second set of doors? 🙂

  8. prior.. says:

    I read the comment about the chapel with snow and I bet it does look charming with that dusting – I also like the holiday hanging near that door in the third – is that in the tree?

  9. joey says:

    Sweet chapel, love the garland 🙂

  10. Very nice, Janet! Loved all of your doors but favored the first one (maybe because your name is cast in the cement 😉 ). Happy New Year!

  11. Perfect doors for the season. 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

