Thursday Doors…French trio

Posted: January 5, 2017 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , ,

Beauty certainly is in the eye of the beholder.  While I was in France, one of my s-i-l’s dogs was very sick, vomiting throughout the day and night, leaving her with blankets and rugs that needed to be cleaned continuously.  But in France, electricity is expensive and washers and dryers aren’t enormous.  So when we discovered these washers and driers outside a store in a nearby town, we were elated.  They were a bargain and we could get grocery shopping done while we waited. (We were also fortunate in that we never had to wait, something that doesn’t always happen.)  Those were some of the most beautiful doors of the entire trip!

© janet m. webb 2016

I don’t know where this door leads, but I like it.

© janet m. webb 2016

And then there are traditional doors.

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. We have these outside our little supermarket also. I have never really given them much thought until your blog post this morning, and then of course I thought, wow, they make sense, those huge duvets and blankets that don’t fit in our dryer, I could bring them here, I cannot thank you enough, you have helped enormously this morning!

    • Entirely my pleasure, Susan. If you’re as thrilled as we were and to as good an effect, then the entire post was worth it, no matter whether anyone else likes it or not! 🙂

      janet

  2. I. Greenwald says:

    hope your doggies are feeling better.

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    I agree with you about the first photo. When I’m travelling, finding a laundromat is a prize – especially when you can drop it off and pick up later.

    Great door choices. Each was a nice find 🙂

    • There aren’t nearly as many laundromats around these days, are there? I could use one every so often for large bedspreads and similar things rather than having to take them to the dry cleaners.

      janet

    • Lenore Brashear says:

      In Germany we had trouble finding a DIY laundry. We had one lady stick her nose in the air and say, “I have heard, that in the United States, people do their own laundry.” We had to wait to get to France to do the laundry We took up almost all the machines in the store. There were 3 of us. The things you learn travelling are priceless!
      There are few dryers in Europe anywhere. Laundry is usually hung out on the line, from window to window across the street, in the air well of an apartment building, in the window, in the courtyard, wherever a line can be hung.
      In Madrid we had a small apartment with a washer and the lines were in the air well. We were on the third floor and I was constantly afraid that I would drop a piece. I didn’t know how to get into the air well to retrieve it. I always had a small portable line with built in pins for overnight drying in hotels, or B&B’s.
      I love those doors!!! They may lead to hidden delights or to hidden dungeons but love them all.

      • My s-i-l hangs her things out, too, but in this case, it would have taken too long to dry that way and the next set of rugs/blankets would have needed washing. This find was a God-send!

        I have an indoor drying rack that I use for most of my things, although I usually give them a bit of time in the dryer first since our electricity isn’t as expensive as that in France/Europe. One day I’d love to have an outdoor line, but in the weather we’re having right now, it would take quite some time. 🙂

        Glad you enjoyed the doors. I’m quite sure the second doesn’t lead to anything more exciting than a cellar of some sort, but a dungeon sounds much more exciting.

        janet

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        I only tried once to find a laundromat in Germany, but it was closed and we were leaving the next day.
        Doing laundry on vacation is always a challenge. I like your idea of travelling with a small portable line. We’ve had to get creative more than a few times!!

  4. We have a couple of laundromats around my side of town. They come in handy when the washer or dryer breaks; with a load in it, and for washing sleeping bags.

    I bought a BIG LOAD washer and dryer the first time I bought a set so many years ago and never looked back. I wash my blankets, and down comforters at home. Electricity is getting expensive here too!

    When I saw the middle door leading to the underground I thought, ” root cellar, or wine cave? It’s France. Wine Cave!” 🙂

    I’m glad to read the dog was better by the time you left. I can relate.

    • Before we moved, we bought a front load washer and it was wonderful! With no agitator, there was lots more room and I could wash things that normally would need to be dry-cleaned. Our rental house just has a regular washer and dryer, though, so no room for big items.

      Wine cave sounds good to me! Let’s go with that. Yes, it was good the dog was better when I left. She almost died and it was very traumatic!

      janet

  5. Sherry Felix says:

    I like the second and third doors

    • Good morning, Sherry. Those two are certainly the more beautiful doors, but they weren’t as welcome or useful as the first. 🙂 Thanks for dropping by and commenting and have a wonderful Thursday.

      janet

  6. marianallen says:

    Great trio! I never saw open-air laundry machines! I don’t know if you have them in France, but here we have Laundromats (or, as we called them when I was growing up, Washeterias [like cafeterias, only for laundry]).

  7. Sorry about your s-i-l’s sick doggie. No fun! The laundry machines are beauties. I love the rustic hatch door in the second photo. Wonder what’s inside…
    Donna

  8. Vicky says:

    Fun and awe doors… No 3 is the awesome one, I love it!

  9. joey says:

    Oh fantastic! They’re all great.
    I can remember years ago, my mother and I taking the big comforters to the laundry mat for the oversized capacity. She’d had them dry cleaned previously, which was too costly — we’d washed them in the tub and hung them up to dry which was too laborious — the laundromat was just right.
    She gave those big things to me when I moved out, and I have the supersize washer 😉 lol

  10. Dan Antion says:

    Either of the last two doors can be my favorite. Washers and driers send shivers up my spine.

    • These sent shivers of delight, Dan, as we had piles of big and think things that needed cleaning badly. In the time I was there, we made several trips here. But I agree, the other two doors have more beauty in the outward sense.

      janet

  11. conspicari says:

    Lovely French doors. :>)

  12. Norm 2.0 says:

    Three wonderful and very different choices this week – I love em all, but my vote is for the presumed cave à vin. All that texture in the weathered wood…great shot Janet 🙂

  13. Candy says:

    Awww ..poor pup. Thanks for the eclectic post. Each one has it’s own character.

  14. Great across the board selection. I’m not a fan of the laundromat, BUT there are times like this or when you have rugs that it is a wonderful place. 🙂 Love the old wooden door in the ground. Makes me think of an old tornado shelter.

    • Good Friday morning to you, Judy. An outdoor laundromat like this is, in some ways, better than the indoor ones that have kind of a low reputation. But yet, many people depend on them. This one was a God-send!

      janet

  15. Pistachios says:

    Haha I like your perspective on things. I’ll admit, I probably studied the first photo as much as the other two…
    But with your accompanying story, plus all the laundry-related comments it has attracted, I think the first photo is my favourite of the trio!

  16. Nice post of “dungeons” (cellar door) and “drag-ins” (laundromat doors) and the 6th door! Glad the dog survived, you n s-i-l got clean laundry and you got a couple of nice doors! The new year got off to a good start. 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

