It’s a doozy!

Posted: January 7, 2017 in Miscellaneous
Tags: , ,

For yesterday’s photo challenge, I introduced a classic car by name (and by its front), a Duesenberg.  Wikipedia has this to offer as their opening to a much longer article:

Duesenberg Motors Company (sometimes referred to as “Duesy”) was an American manufacturer of race cars and luxury automobiles. It was founded by brothers August and Frederick Duesenberg in 1913 in Saint Paul, Minnesota, where they built engines and race cars.[citation needed] The brothers moved their operations to Elizabeth, New Jersey in 1916 to manufacture engines for World War I. In 1919, when their government contracts were cancelled, they moved to Indianapolis, Indiana, home of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, and established the Duesenberg Automobile and Motors Company, Inc. (Delaware). In late 1926, E.L. Cord added Duesenberg to his Auburn Automobile Company. With the market for expensive luxury cars severely undercut by the Depression, Duesenberg folded in 1937.

I spotted this beauty early one morning while waiting for Daughter #1 to arrive at O’Hare Airport from California.  Instead of the cell phone lot, I always pull off at O’Hare Plaza, just off the interstate, where lots of others, including livery drivers, park and wait.  This morning, I went inside to wait and was well-rewarded for my efforts.  Although surrounded by “Do Not Touch” and “Under Continual Surveillance” signs, the elegant, classic lines shown through effortlessly.  I believe this is a Duesenberg J, although whether real or a reproduction such as the one in this link (lots of photos), I don’t know.  I also didn’t care; I just enjoyed!

I think we’d need a longer garage to house this baby.

© janet m. webb 2016

These were the days when a car trunk was actually a trunk!

© janet m. webb 2016

The distinctive “bowtie” style front bumper.  Could be a mustache, too, don’t you think?

© janet m. webb 2016

No hunting around for the spare tire or one of those little space-saver doughnut spare tires so popular today!

© janet m. webb 2016

While some think the word “doozy”, something outstanding or unique, comes from Duesdenber, Merriam Webster bursts our bubble:

While it’s often maintained that the word doozy derives from the “Duesenberg” in the name of the famed Duesenberg Motor Company, this is impossible on chronological grounds. Doozy was first recorded (in the form dozy) in eastern Ohio in 1916, four years before the Duesenberg Motor Company began to manufacture passenger cars; the related adjective doozy, meaning “stylish” or “splendid,” is attested considerably earlier, in 1903. So where did doozy come from? Etymologists believe that it’s an altered form of the word daisy, which was used especially in the late 1800s as a slang term for someone or something considered the best.

That may be, but to me, this car is certainly a doozy!

Comments
  1. I love it… and it’s one of my dream-cars .. it will stay as a dream, but I haven’t to own it to make it to my car… it can be mine in my dreams :o)))

  2. That’s a car with a name! Just imagine you could drive a Duesenberg… and polish it afterwards.

  3. Lena says:

    WOW! That is an awesome car, I would very much like one of these 😀

  4. I’ve never been a big car enthusiast, but this one really does make you smile. Handsome. 🙂

  5. solaner says:

    I love these old cars. They were (are) chique and had style. The design was unique and eternal. Why don’t have the current designers that kind of courage to create such wonderful cars again.

  6. Tvor says:

    Superb vehicle!!!

  7. carol1945 says:

    Simply gorgeous. I loved looking at these cars this morning (I always check WordPress first thing in the morning). Thanks for the history of Dusenberg. It may be “doozie” was popularized as a word when this baby came out.

  8. Beautiful photos, Janet. That is quite a car.
    Ω

  9. marianallen says:

    I learned something today! Thanks!

  10. It has a certain charm, I suppose. 😀

  11. Dan Antion says:

    Oh my, that is a beautiful car. I’d renovate my garage in a heartbeat if you could arrange to have that shipped here 🙂

    Lovely photos, Janet.

  12. bythebriny says:

    I’m not that into cars, but that is a beautiful car!

  13. happyface313 says:

    🙂 I absolutely agree – this Duesenberg is a true doozy!
    Love it!
    Have a beautiful week! 🙂

  14. Wow, what a looker! I’m not much of a car person myself, but even I can appreciate the workmanship and fine details on this one. I’d be too afraid of getting it dirty to ever take it out for a spin, though!

  15. Classic cars reflect the history of our early technology. The vintage you chose is my favorite era. Unfortunately for me, even mediocre examples of the genre are well beyond my simple means. 🙂

  16. Oh Wow, I love it… especially love the wide running boards… can just fancy a well-shod foot and fine silk stockings on a slim elegant leg stepping down from the car as it arrives at an exclusive destination.. dreaming, of course.. and also if pigs could fly… what a lovely post Janet

    • Glad you enjoyed it, Valerie. I imagine the realities of owning (and actually using) such a beauty aren’t all wonderful, but we can enjoy looking and imagining what fun it would be to ride in one owned by a friend. 🙂

  17. […] via It’s a doozy! — This, that and the other thing […]

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

