Thursday Doors…the sexy doors of Villersexel

Posted: January 12, 2017 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , , , ,

I’ve featured doors from Villersexel before on Thursday Doors, as well as the chateau that distinguishes this town of under 2,000 residents.  In 1871, the French and the Prussians battled here, during which time the mostly-timber chateau was destroyed by fire.  In the same year, the owner looked for an architect working with more fire-resistant materials, choosing the young Gustave Eiffel (yes, that Eiffel) who was working with iron.  Shall I say that Eiffel developed into a towering talent?  Perhaps not.

At any rate, the chateau is completely furnished in this period. Lafayette reportedly lived in the current Chateau, while Charles De Gaulle and Winston Churchill both stayed there.  However, most of the people live in less exalted homes, yet homes with interesting doors.  These three represent three different sorts of doors, something for everyone.

The colorfully elegant…

© janet m. webb 2016

The shabbily chic…

© janet m. webb 2016

The iron-clad gateway…

© janet m. webb 2016

Norm features some amazing street art (and doors, of course) this week and for all the current links for other doors, click here.

Comments
  1. GeorgieMoon says:

    These are great doors, I love the blue one.

    • I think I would have guessed that from you. 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to comment. I’m looking forward to seeing everyone else’s doors once I get home from work tonight.

      janet

  2. I love the blue door, and the gates too, but there is something old world and loveable about the brown one 🙂

    • I know exactly what you mean, Madison. There are lots of doors in about that same condition in that area and although they wouldn’t look right here, they fit perfectly there where the homes are older, too.

      janet

  3. joey says:

    That iron gate is sexy indeed 🙂
    I always love an old wooden door, and that blue door is so fresh and tidy — they contrast each other nicely.

    • I said to Madison in an earlier comment that the shabby chic doors look just right in Europe on the older buildings, but they wouldn’t look right most places in the US. I liked the contrast, too, so I’m glad you did.

      janet

  4. Nice selection, Janet. Love the blue one with the planter. 🙂

    • I do, too, Judy. Thinking of you this cold morning when we’re getting just a dusting of snow. I find mentioning that sort of weather always makes the people in the warm spots feel better. 🙂

  5. I love any old doors and gates. We have old wrought iron gates half way down our drive, they neither open nor close and serve absolutely no purpose whatsoever except that I admire them all the time!!

  6. Norm 2.0 says:

    Nice mix but my vote goes for that first one; there’s something fun and positive about that color 🙂

  7. Dan Antion says:

    This is a nice group of doors, Janet. I really like the blue one at the top. I like panel doors, and I like that the entire door is set back in a panel-like fashion.

  8. jesh stg says:

    Nice piece of historic facts here, Janet! A wooden chateau …not a good idea, especially not in those days! You probably know that the Parisians of those days abhorred the tower of Eiffel they found a clunky ugly iron thing?
    Love the roof in your last capture – well worn!

  9. Lovely shade of blue on that first door, Janet. My husband’s great grandfather left Prussia when he was 18, during the Franco-Prussian war, and made his way to some relatives in England. We think it was to avoid conscription into the Prussian Army. He became a Pork Butcher in England and moved to Ireland in the the 1880’s and married an Irish woman in Dublin. So if it hadn’t been for the war, he would never have come here and I’d be married to a different person and I would have completely different children and grandchildren and I wouldn’t be writing this comment now. 😉 But I would still be admiring your photos, Janet.

  10. Always shabby chic for me. But you’re right, it would look out of place on my home, which was built in the mid GW era, circa 2004. Would it be ok if I just keep it in my den as a piece of art?

  11. Really nice trio, and history today Janet! I really like that blue door!

  12. Mona lisa says:

    These are extraordinary entryways, I adore the blue one…
    http://www.wildlifedestination.com/

  13. marianallen says:

    Ohhhhhhh, that raggedy house behind the iron-clad gateway! I love it SO MUCH!

  14. The shabbily chic door has a diamond in the rough 😉

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

